We Have Drawings

It has been a few days since I’ve written so I thought I would do a brief update. Thursday my “sew sisters” moved in for our quarterly sewing retreat, now remember that it isn’t really on a quarterly basis as much, but there are 4 of us. We are celebrating Cathy’s birthday at my house. I really enjoy doing this, but this time I’m not as prepared as I’d like in regards to food. Thank goodness the girls are very flexible and not very demanding.

Thursday morning, Brenda got here around 8 and we decided to walk 4 miles, did that and then cleaned up and started to sew. I have to say that I’ve been so distracted lately I want to sew, but my mind is thinking about the house or I’m just plain tired and I prefer to be productive. I ended up meeting a flooring man that afternoon and I took Brenda with me to the house. She was very patient and accommodating while I walked around with him.

Friday I actually got to sit down and sew some. I worked on my Faceted Jewels reproduction swap for Sandy and myself. I got those done and they are ready to pass out! Thanks Brenda for helping me sort those little “jewels”. Wahoo, I can get rid of something.

our faceted jewels swap

our faceted jewels swap

As I was sewing I got a call from Linda saying there was a garage sale across the street and they had 3 good deals and wanted to see if I was interested. So I drove over there to scope out her finds, sure enough they were treasures, one is a fixer upper, but the other 2 were in good shape. All in all a “score”! Thank you, Linda!

my dresser find

my dresser score via Linda

look at this cute desk and notice the sewing table in the background

look at this cute desk and notice the sewing table in the background

I also got to work on my Pam Buda’s Market Day Sew-Along. She revealed her finished small quilt and miniature on July 4th, but I wasn’t home, so I’m just now getting to assemble it. I thought it looked cute! I am also going to do the sew-along with Marcus Bros. I think it starts in August.

mini Market Day sew-along laid out

mini Market Day sew-along laid out

some of my churn dashes that I did

some of my churn dashes that I did

my mini all sewed, I just need to add the 2 borders

my mini all sewed, I just need to add the 2 borders

my small Market Day all laid out

my small Market Day all laid out

my small Market day all sewn up

my small Market day all sewn up

David worked on 3 different yards. He did Mom and Dad’s, the house in LaPorte and our house. I can call his service Tri-City Lawn Care! He really does such a great job with all the yard work, but I think he got too hot. Thanks Babe, they look awesome!

the backyard all groomed and David even trimmed the trees in the back

the backyard all groomed and David even trimmed the trees in the back

this fence is in bad shape it will go away for now

this fence is in bad shape it will go away for now

I ended up giving the girls a little tour of the house and Linda met us over there too, so I got to show them what David had done and it was a good way for me to see what he had done while I wasn’t there. You know, I need to see the progress! 😉

At some point I was picking on the girls and telling them that they could make a quilt for the retreat house, well they took me up on it. The 3 of them are going to split up making the blocks and make a quilt for me. I’m so excited; they are going to make a patriotic quilt. It is really going cute. It is a pattern called American Jubilee, out of the book “Stars and Stripes” by the Little Red Hen.

Stars and Stripes book

Stars and Stripes book

Cheryl goes to the table to lay out all the color variations to make sure each block is extra-scrappy; you know I had to go look at what she was laying out. Low and behold they plotted against me. She asked me to give the ok on the lay out, so I did make one change and I said it looks great, then Cathy starts laughing. They had put an “imposter block” in there! Do you see it?

look at the colors, I love it

look at the colors, I love it

look at these, can you find the impostor?

look at these, can you find the impostor?

this gives you a little idea

this gives you a little idea

Saturday I met Tom over at the house and he gave me the drawings for the plan for the craft room! I am excited that now we can submit the drawings to the city for permits to be issued. I had no idea that this process was going to be such a challenge, but at least I think we are finally there. We also got a bid for the electrical in the house and that is going to be submitted on Monday too!

David did work upstairs and pulled the carpet out of the front bedroom and the hall. Oh my goodness, the floor is really in good shape!

the front bedroom without the carpet

the front bedroom without the carpet

notice the door know, the one on the other side has purple paint

notice the door know, the one on the other side has purple paint

the hall without the carpet

the hall without the carpet

That’s my show and share for now.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Home remodel, Outdoors, Pieceful Stitches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

