Dust Bowl

After work today, David and I worked on the floor at the house. I guess we worked until about 7:30. I walked out to the car to grab the camera and as I walked out I saw Sam Z and his wife, Claire. Sam Z is the youngest of the 5 children that lived and grew up in the house that we just bought. He and his wife own the house next door! He is very nice and I got to meet his wife and 3 children.

They all came in and walked through their grandparent’s house, I would love to walk through my grandmother’s house. I know “Granny’s house” have so much meaning.

Tonight as I wanted to finish getting all of the tile up in the dining room and David hoped to get to the first layer of vinyl. I did get all of the tile up, but getting all those layers up and gone is very labor intensive! He got almost all of it up.

almost

almost

another view of the dining room

another view of the dining room

After that I just went from spot to spot trying to work on something but not too sure what to do, so I just made a mess! Ha!

I sprayed vinegar and water on the back of the top vinyl flooring, that helped some, but not near enough – there is a layer of dust on everything!!!

Today at work, Cynthia told me about this product that works good on rust! So I decided to get some and try it on the bathtub upstairs. Oh my goodness, it really works! I only sprayed it on the surface, I didn’t scrub or do anything else and it worked FAST! Notice the name of the product…”the Works”!

bathtub before

bathtub before

the bathtub after I sprayed it!

the bathtub after I sprayed it! and that is ALL I did

It Works!

It Works!

Also, Sam gave us a tip on how to get the bottom vinyl flooring up, he said to use a heat gun! Oh my word, I’m going to try it!

David seems to think the subfloor in the kitchen and back porch should come up easier. I sure hope so, because this is such a slow process.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

