Day One

Our little house has a ton of character! It has 4 bedrooms (3 up and 1 down) and 3 bathrooms, dining room, kitchen, a back porch area and has a den. It is classified as a 1-½ story home and has a little over 2300 sq. ft. It needs a lot of work, but it does have central air and heat and was put in its current location about 1935. It has the old knob and tube wiring.

entry area

entry area

It has beautiful window trim, base boards and door trims and some bubble glass windows and it has a wonderful front porch and a small side porch. It also has all of its original doorknobs and doors.

dining room

dining room

den

den

fireplace in den

fireplace in den

another view from den into dining room

another view from den into dining room

up bedroom door

up bedroom door

up back bedroom

up back bedroom

up front bedroom.  You will not get this color!

up front bedroom. You will not get this color!

master down

master down

We had the house leveled today and we began really snooping under all the flooring. We found it has “worn” oak hardwood floors under old, dirty carpet and under the tile in the dining room and kitchen. Plus we met with the contractors late this evening. It is going to take a village to get this project finished by October 1st.

lovely flooring

lovely flooring

This is going to be a two-part process, one to repair the house and the other to build the “crafting area”.

I’m not too sure how much sewing I’m going to get to do in the next few months or I may have to sew to keep my mind off of what I can or cannot do.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Home remodel, Pieceful Stitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day One

  1. debbie martinez says:

    I love the new retreat place its going to be a great place to sew.

  2. Yes lots to be done! But you have the lists and the plan! You are going to be fabulous!

  3. Jerriann says:

    It’s a big, well-worth-it project and I know it will bring community and prosperity! I’m thrilled for you. If you are like me you’ll need sewing days to maintain your sanity!

    • ronda926 says:

      thank you, we were talking about that today! I am sure that you are getting ready for your big reveal, I hope it is a success for you. Hopefully the sewing days will come when the contractor starts working.

  4. anniemchugs says:

    It’s a big project but is so-worthwhile! It will be fun!

Leave a Reply

