New Keys

You know what they say …”timing is everything!” After several years of wanting to buy a house and put in a retreat center, David has finally conceded and is fully engaged in us going into business with it.

Over the years I’ve been dropping little hints here and there and finally about the middle of April he finally said he was “in” and I could find a house. I didn’t wait for him to change his mind, I promptly went house shopping on the Internet and I found the cutest house in LaPorte, it was love at first sight. After all, why not there, it is where the best fabric store is in the state of Texas, The Painted Pony.

The house just happened to be tied up in an estate ownership and it was a challenge to get an offer accepted but we made it through that in a record time of 3 weeks. I thought that it would not get worked out but S L O W L Y but surely all of the details are got worked out.

The inspector came and then the appraiser, this all takes so much time – lucky me, this just happens to be a hot time in real estate and everything is all backed up. It didn’t happen in one episode like it does on HGTV! Now if I could get Chip and Joanna Gains or The Property Bros down here, I’d be sitting pretty! 😉

Our closing date was set for Monday and that even came with its challenges, it was an off/on process too. Then I got a message to call the seller on Friday and she needed more time to get her stuff out of the house. We worked that out too.

Then on Sunday I got another call from our realtor saying that we could not close on Monday as scheduled, the title company needed a signature from one of the 5 siblings and we could not close until Wednesday morning – what a roller coaster ride this has been emotionally!

Late Tuesday afternoon, I met with the city to see about what all I need to get the permits and I’ll say I’ve got my work cut out for me, it is very overwhelming. David ended up coming in late, but it was good to see him on “my side”. David and I are really looking forward to digging into the home repairs and then to build our new addition for the craft room.

Needless to say I have been chomping at the bit to tell you about it! Another chapter is beginning for us.

The house is a real charmer, it is a Sears kit house built around 1935 and has had one family in it.

our new project!

our new project!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Pieceful Stitches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to New Keys

  1. cathycarnew says:

    Yippee–Kai–Yay!!! I can’t wait to see what you and David have in store for this lovely home. AND, I really can’t wait to be a guest there. It’s ON!!!

  2. A friend lived in a Sears kit house here – charming. When she put it on the market, it sold in less than 30 days to the first people who looked at it. Lots of fun ahead of you. 🙂

  3. texancowgirl says:

    Congratulations!

    Connie Litteer clitteer@comcast.net 832-556-8257 281-684-3780

    Sent from Connie’s iPad

    >

  4. Lynn Hertzberg says:

    Congratulations Rhonda! It is adorable!

  5. Sue G says:

    Wow! This is so, so exciting! Congrats on a new venture! I can’t wait for a retreat….

  6. Susie moore says:

    Please let me know if I can help you in any way!

  7. Debbie M. says:

    Congratulations Rhonda!! I Love it.
    How Exiting its going to be.

  8. I am so excited for you! Can’t wait to see the “in progress” photos!

  9. Margie says:

    Well, congrats! And my cousins are a whole new breed of quilters! Would love to see Recee’s reaction! Good luck! I’ll follow the updates.

  10. givenachance says:

    That’s so awesome! My Mom would be so happy to know that it will be used as a retreat for ladies to get together, sew quilts and yarns! I’m excited to see how it all comes together. Congratulations on the house and the new business!

Leave a Reply

