Block Therapy

How was your Father’s Day Sunday? I hope you had a great one; our day was fairly relaxing. We met my Dad and Mom for lunch at Monument Inn and that was great, we got there around 11:30 and we got seated within 30 minutes. I call that a success, not to mention the great food plus I even had leftovers and I had that for lunch today. A win, win! A special shout out goes to my father for all he has done for me over the years and always being there with unconditional love. I love you, Dad!

Dad and I outside Monument Inn, it was bright and I was having time with the light!

Dad and I outside Monument Inn, it was bright and I was having time with the light!

Do you ever have so many things going on your mind that it becomes like a revving engine? Well that is about my stage of mind these days. Maybe that is the reason I’m jumping from one project to the other like a mad scientist! Sewing seams to calm my mind, does that work for you? That is why I’m calling this “block therapy”.

Sunday I cut out all of my wool pieces for my Primitive Gatherings, Sunflower Gathering quilt and I got them laid out, but not ironed into place. I do think I’m going to love this quilt. I sure like what I’ve seen so far, very different from the last one. Lisa mentioned in one of her posts that this is her 10th summer block of the week! Wow!

pieces of the first block

pieces of the first block

I just love sunflowers, they were one of my Granny’s favorites, so when I see sunflowers, hydrangeas, geraniums and owls – I always think of her. I’m sure you have things that pop in your head about your grandparents.

After I finished my cutting, I thought I would finish stitching my “mini” block from last year! I think I have 6 more – that seems to be my lucky number lately!

another mini block finished

another mini block finished

After I finished that I decided to pull out my bag of cut blocks that I cut out for the friendship bee and stitched up one of the “Goose in the Pond” blocks.

my block that I sewed yesterday

my block that I sewed yesterday

This morning I decided that I would not be on the computer all day and so I made myself stay off the computer and be productive, so I pulled out 3 more “Goose in the Pond” blocks. Even though I was pretty diligent it took me most of the day to do these 3 blocks.

my parts for my 3 blocks today

my parts for my 3 blocks today

my 3 done today

my 3 done today

I’ve got 3 (I’m glad it isn’t 6) more already cut out and waiting for me to stitch up, maybe if I sew them, it will help pass the time and help me not think about all the distractions of life!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

