Head Start

Last night I went to bed a little late but not too late and for some reason I ended up waking up at 3:15 and finally got up at 4:20. I got a head start on my sewing for today and even better, I woke up before David. I was careful not to wake him and so I just came into my playroom and sewed on my Red Crinoline, Star of the West pattern. I was able to get all of my “wings” on.

one side of the wings

one side of the wings

now to add the second side

now to add the second side

Next up was for me to construct my little rows. So after I got home from work I was able to get those done!

my little rows

my little rows

And then they were blocks! All 6 of them are now finished along with the other 24! Yippee!

my last 6 blocks

my last 6 blocks

my stack of 30 blocks, that was a LOT of sewing

my stack of 30 blocks, that was a LOT of sewing

Now I have to cut the sashing and do the setting pieces, but I need to cut them first. Normally I do my entire cutting at the beginning so when I start sewing I don’t have to go back and cut. This time I changed it up – hum, not sure I like it, now I have to figure out what I didn’t do!

Well, I am going to really switch gears! I wanted to participate in Pam Buda’s “Market Day Sew-Along” and I just never picked out my fabrics until this morning. Most everyone started it back towards the end of April and each Friday she posts a different component of the “mystery” quilt.

my fabric for my sew-along

my fabric for my sew-along

Needless to say, I’m 7 lessons behind, but it should not take that long to catch up, at least that is what I’m hoping. The finished project is 30×30 and she is also doing a “mini” project, so I’m going to do that too!

The first week is a square-in-a-square and only one of them. I’m on my way; I’m back to “6 more”. Ha! ☺

week one cuts

week one cuts

week one is done

week one is done

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

