Andrew’s Wings

Hello, I know I’ve been away for a few days, but things have been a little busy around here.

As you know I got my Red Crinoline, Second Hand Clothes quilt back from Cathy but that is only the beginning of the end. I got the label for the quilt made and then I attached the binding to the quilt and it was my goal to get one side stitched down before I got in the car Saturday morning to head to the Dallas area. Success! I stitched until I finished one side and a little more. Wahoo!

my label

my label

Saturday morning we got up and I started getting ready to leave and decided that I also needed to get the label/binding done on my Arkansas Crossroads so I could work on the binding on the way home. I just cut out a “panel” label for my quilt and I wrote on it and fixed my binding and I did get it attached. A double wahoo!!

We got off well and I was stitching like crazy trying to finish my binding by the time we got to the hotel. We even got turned around and I still didn’t finish before we got to the hotel, but I did finish once we got in the room.

the quilt is all finished

the quilt is all finished

a closer look

a closer look

We drove over to my sister, Penny’s house and put on our party hats to celebrate Andrew’s high school graduation! It is hard to believe how all the time has flown by and now it is time to see him spread his wings. He will be attending Colorado Christian University in the fall.

Andrew posing

Andrew posing

his cake

his cake

some of the table decor

some of the table decor

Penny always does such a fabulous job decorating and it was nice seeing all of her decorations that she had placed throughout the house – I loved all of the pictures of Andrew, they add a special touch!

Andrew loves the Avenger’s, so that is what I got on his gift bag! After the food arrived and things kind of settled down a little we gave Andrew his new quilt. He really liked it! Yea!

Andrew pulling out his quilt

Andrew pulling out his quilt

Andrew likes his quilt

Andrew likes his quilt

Andrew and I with his new quilt

Andrew and I with his new quilt

more decorations

more decorations

we got to use these plates again - love these plates

we got to use these plates again – love these plates

One of Penny & Steve’s friends gave Andrew 8 umbrellas! It was so funny, poor Andrew didn’t really know what to do or really what was going on. Mark gave him an umbrella for every semester of college. I am not too sure I understood what Mark was thinking, but it was still funny!

Andrew trying to hold onto the umbrellas

Andrew trying to hold onto the umbrellas

"I got this"

“I got this”

Guess what – we had a surprise visit from our brother, Grady and his 3 children. It was great to see them all and the first time we all have been together since October 2007. Needless to say, we took a lot of photos!

Aaron showing Mom how to take a selfie

Aaron showing Mom how to take a selfie

Penny, Mom and Pattie

Penny, Mom and Pattie

Andrew and Mark

Andrew and Mark

Penny, Mom, Pattie and me

Penny, Mom, Pattie and me

Dad, Grady, Penny, Mom, Pattie and myself

Dad, Grady, Penny, Mom, Pattie and myself

Rachal, Mom and myself

Rachal, Mom and myself

It was very nice to be able to spend special time with my family!

the original 6

the original 6

Andrew, Myself and David

Andrew, Myself and David

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Andrew’s Wings

  1. cathycarnew says:

    So exciting that your siblings were all together again! I know you were glad to see everyone. Also wanted to say thank you. I considered it an honor to quilt your nephew’s Second Hand Clothes quilt. I love seeing our names together on the back of the quilt and knowing that someday, somewhere, a special person will see that, and wonder about us. Oh, if the quilt could tell a story!!

Leave a Reply

