Long Distance Calling

I had a flash back on my way home from work – remember when it was a big thing to call anyone “long distance”? I can remember when my friend Karen and I were always instructed to carry a dime or a quarter just in case we needed to make a phone call. Her dad, Bill worked for Southwestern Bell and he wanted to make sure we could call home if we needed to. He was one of the sweetest men; I sure loved and adored him. He loved to call me carrot-top! Anyway, calling long distance was a big deal back then and now we don’t think anything about calling our friends and family that are far away!

On the way home Tuesday I even got to talk to Kyle in Tyler and I even got to “FaceTime” with him and Adley! My how things have changed!

I got the message from Cathy Tuesday evening that my quilt is ready to pick up! I guess she has been burning the midnight oil trying to get my quilt done and another one done by the weekend. Now I can’t wait to get it and put the finishing touches on it.

Monday I spent all morning and most of the afternoon cutting up kits for the friendship bee. I cut up fabric for 20 “Goose in the Pond” blocks and I only needed 14! Now I guess I can make 2 quilts instead of 1. Ugh, it is a good thing I like the block and it isn’t that complicated.

all of my kits for the bee

all of my kits for the bee

Today has been a pretty productive day, I picked up my Red Crinoline quilt, “Second Hand Clothes” from Cathy and then I got my binding ready, but I still need to get my label done. She did a great job on the quilting! Thank you Cathy!

Second Hand Clothes all quilted

Second Hand Clothes all quilted

a closer look of the quilting, she is all trimmed up

a closer look of the quilting, she is all trimmed up

I also had to make two blocks for Lakeview guild for our friendship bee, they are past due, so I worked on those and got those finished!

my fabrics for my donation blocks

my fabrics for my donation blocks

this block is called Road to California Variation

this block is called Road to California Variation

my other Road to California block

my other Road to California block

all done

all done

I’ve got to fuss a little. My view out my window has changed! I’m so bummed about it! I don’t know about you, but I really enjoy my view from my sewing room. Recently our neighbors behind us trimmed all of their red oleander bushes to below the fence line. Besides our garden, I now see their “huge” roofline! For the life of me, why didn’t they trim them in early spring? Ok, I feel a little better now! 😉

Regardless, I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

