Free Mulch

This morning my plan was to get up go to the grocery store and then come home and finish my Star of the West blocks. I’m not sure why, but things always take longer than I expect and the groceries never put themselves up. Too bad I’m not Elizabeth Montgomery from “Bewitched” and wiggle my nose and things disappear. ☺

After I put away the groceries I talked to David a little outside as he worked on a tree and then I went to sew. Wahoo, things are going according to plan, and then he walks into the room and says the lady three doors down offered us the remainder of her mulch that was in her driveway. He wanted to know if I wanted to help bring it to the house. It would not have been a problem if I had not already showered and I didn’t want to get all hot and sweaty. About 6 trips later (with both of us going back and forth) we got it all moved over. Fresh mulch sure does a lot and it looks good, but I did get hot and sweaty! Ugh! Case in point, free does have a price!

After doing the mulch (I mainly watched) I got back on task to finish my Star of the West blocks. I added the other sides to complete my top and bottom segments.

my outer sections done

my outer sections done

Next I added my center sections to the top part and then added the lower portion to complete my block and somewhere my 8 blocks turned into 10. I thought I was working on 4 different sets, but it was actually 5. I was pleasantly surprised, 10 is better!

now I've added my centers

now I’ve added my centers

I sure like these blocks, so the hard work does pay off.

10 more blocks finished

10 more blocks finished


I need to get started on another quilt and should have already started it, but I was trying to get to a certain point in my Star of the West pattern, but now time is pressing and I keep getting pulled in different directions.

Tomorrow is Katie’s birthday and we agreed to watch Wyatt and Kynlee and they got to spend the night. They sure are fun, but they sure give me a run for my money. Wyatt sure has the personality and Kynlee just watches and smiles!

Wyatt loves books, so he ran to get a book so he could be read to

Wyatt loves books, so he ran to get a book so he could be read to

what a sweetie

what a sweetie

Kynlee getting into the mix of things

Kynlee getting into the mix of things

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Outdoors, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

