If Only I Could Count

First off, I want to give a birthday shout out to my friend Sandy, she recently moved into a new house and is one of the best “piecers” I know. Sandy, I hope you have had a great birthday and many more – enjoy the sweet life! I can’t wait to see your sewing room!

Last night I was still cutting my fabrics for the Red Crinoline Quilts pattern Star of the West and I was thinking that this was taking FOREVER when I decided to count my blocks that I had set aside for my half-square triangles. I counted them and I had 13 done, but I had 7 more sets on the floor still to do and my goal was 15. I had decided not to use some and traded some out and finally realized that I had pulled 20 sets instead of 15.

It was a great surprise that I only had 2 more to do, but then I had to decide which ones were definitely not going to be used and put them away! Problems, problems! I was glad I had over counted instead of it being the other way around and thankfully I had counted at that point!

After I got all of my cutting done I decided that I wanted to make one block, I love the mystery of doing a block and seeing how it goes together. Sew off I go! ☺

for my half-square units

for my half-square units

First I went to stitch my half-square triangles, they finish at 1-½ inches so I did those and put them aside. I’m using Star Singles by Spinning Star Design, they are so easy to work with and more importantly – great results.

spinning star sections

spinning star sections

I love the background fabric I chose, I’m using Marcus Bros, Red Crinoline fabric, Summit Rose – Gray. I knew it was the perfect one to go with my purples and blacks/dark grays!

I love Red Crinoline patterns, they go together very well and their diagrams and instructions are written very well (of course it helps to follow them ☺ but, that is for any pattern). They take a complicated block and make it manageable, but there is a lot of cutting and sewing.

Next was to make the different units, let me just say placement is critical, I put the wrong pieces in the wrong place and had to fix that, but after that everything went together pretty well.

my first block set to make

my first block set to make

the bottom section is the first unit

the bottom section is the first unit

This block has a lot of flip and sews, I love using the Pam Bono Design The Angler 2, as I don’t like wasting time drawing lines and I have great results using that tool. This pattern only has two main units, I got those done and then it was time to put the block together.

this is the second unit

this is the second unit

all the sections laid out

all the sections laid out

all three rows ready

all three rows ready

I love the block, one down and 29 more to go. I do need to figure out how to streamline the block so it comes together faster. I love that chain piecing!

Star of the West block

Star of the West block

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If Only I Could Count

  1. Julie A. Moser says:

    You started without me!!! The block really looks nice.

Leave a Reply

