Work Cut Out For Me

Thursday I had to finish stitching down a sleeve on my Christmas quilt and then last night I finally got the sleeve stitched down on my Words quilt. I’m so glad all of the hand stitching is finally done! I think they are ready for the Lakeview Quilt Show.

Yesterday I was talking to David and he was asking me what were my plans for the day and I told him that I had to pull fabric for a pattern and now I had to cut it all out. He cleverly responds, ”Well I guess you’ve got your work cut out for you”. I said “Ha, Ha”!

I got a special delivery of flowers from my oldest son, Josh and his wife, Angela today. They sure are pretty!

flowers for Mother's day

flowers for Mother’s day

I decided to work on a pattern from Red Crinoline Quilts, Star of the West. I’ve been collecting purples and this pattern calls for 15 different darks and 15 coordinating darks. It is harder to pull fabrics than to pull a kit that they have already made all the color selections and then pairing up the coordinating fabrics, so hopefully I’ve made good choices. I may have to do a test block just to see if I’m going to like it or not. We shall see!

my Red Crinoline pattern, Star of the West

my Red Crinoline pattern, Star of the West

fabric selections

fabric selections

I decided to cut the background first – less thinking on my part, but oh my word, it is a lot of cutting! Ok, this too will pass! ☺

my background all cut out

my background all cut out

I got an invite to meet David for lunch after his golf outing, so I got to take an intermission from cutting. We had a great lunch at Outrigger’s with Michelle and Ed.

After we got home I was able to finish cutting the background and I started cutting the darks and coordinating fabrics. I still have 13 more sets to cut out – more tomorrow!

2 backgrounds bagged and ready to stitch

2 backgrounds bagged and ready to stitch

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

