Switching Gears

While I was getting ready this morning The Today Show did a segment on “Love your Selfie”. It is a pretty powerful message regarding how we should be “more than a picture”. If you get a chance to go back and listen to the segment, it is worthwhile and maybe you can watch it tomorrow, they are to have another story.

I have to say we had an outstanding weather day today her in the Houston area. It is hard to believe how we could have such a great day here and others can have such a horrendous day just a state away!

This morning I was able to get the outside background border on my Guiding star blocks, it is looking better, but not yet finished.

with the border on the stars

with the border on the stars

I went out on an errand and decided to go to “Somethin Sweet”. It is a great cupcake place on Center Street in Deer Park. Should you ever be in our area, it is sure worth the stop.

cupcakes for a treat

cupcakes for a treat

I decided to work on a project that Cynthia gave me to work on. It is from her new book, Picture Piecing Traditional Quilts and a pattern called Windswept Roses – I love the red and gold colors.

Cynthia's newest book

Cynthia’s newest book

fabric for Windswept Roses

fabric for Windswept Roses

I got it all cut out and ready to sew and Cynthia made the roses for the quilt, I just needed to trim them up. This is a great project for beginners if you are interested in doing her process and you aren’t sure if you like it or not.

here we go

here we go

pieces all cut

pieces all cut

I started the traditional piecing, but I didn’t get it finished. Here’s what I have so far.

I really liked this for a frame

I really liked this for a frame

frame made for the roses

frame made for the roses

roses trimmed and ready to go

roses trimmed and ready to go

more pieces ready

more pieces ready

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

