To Sash or Not to Sash

I wanted to share what my little daisy like flowers looked like – aren’t they cute? I also have a bloom on the Gazania plants; they all look good so far. ☺

my little daisy like flowers

my little daisy like flowers

my Gazania

my Gazania

I did get to use my “supervisor” hat today. David was very obliging to put my plants where I wanted them. He did a great job! Thank you for planting my zinnias today. Here they are ready for our hot weather. Have you had the chance to smell all the cape jasmines that are blooming? Oh my, they smell so good – here’s mine.

the zinnias

the zinnias

my cape jasmine vine

my cape jasmine vine

I spent most of the entire day trying to get the binding, sleeve and label on my Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By”. I have to say that using half-squares triangles in an outside border is torturous. That resulted in working around a POINT every 2-inches. It is also very heavy and therefore hard to handle, it sure made me wonder how do these people work on a quilt for years in order to put it in a quilt show to win $10k. I guess that is a pretty nice carrot! Ha! It took me way to long to get this done, but at least it is done. I told myself I had to finish that part of it before I went to my other project that I’d rather be doing.

half square borders

half square borders

I wanted to work on my Guiding star block. I’ve been trying to figure out if I should sash it or not and if I sashed the blocks what would I use. I’ve been trying to pick out what color I wanted to accent in the middle. Since my background had a touch of gold in it, I pulled 3 gold fabrics and I couldn’t decide which one and finally chose the darkest one.

my gold fabrics

my gold fabrics

I did one set of sashing just to play! Then I laid it out on the floor to see what I liked. What do you think?

blocks without sashing

blocks without sashing

possible sashing

possible sashing

Of course that led to what I wanted for the borders. I’m leaning towards these fabrics.

with the borders

with the borders

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Outdoors, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

