What Inspires You?

Last night, as we went to bed David asked me what my plans were for Friday? I was so excited to say that I didn’t have anything planned and I was going to hibernate in my room and sew like a crazy person! He asked what time I was going to get up and I said earlier than normal. Then that led to for him to ask me, “What time is that? Before him?” I said no! He had already told me he was going to get up at 5. I woke up before 4 coughing and I couldn’t go to sleep, so I finally got up at 4:30 and I was able to claim the prize! Ha! You know what they say; “early to bed, early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise”.

Friday morning I was getting ready and my mind was flooding with different thoughts and then it went to creating and inspiration. Then I got to thinking about how my children and grandchildren have inspired me to do things that I may not have wanted to undertake. I have also been blessed to have a great source of friends, teachers and family that are so very creative. My mother makes all of her cards and does such a wonderful job of it and it is so nice for us to have those special cards instead of ones that are bought at the store. I also have 2 talented sisters, one dabbles in all kinds of things from cooking to taking on upholstery and the other one is a journal style scrap booker. Her pages are simply amazing and her prose she uses to describe things is incredible.

Before I became a quilter I was a scrap booker and one-person really hit home with me was Tim Holtz. I was fortunate to have taken a couple of his workshops and one of the things that he always said was to “enjoy the journey” and even though we have bumps in the road they mold our character and to embrace those.

As my corporate world changed and I got more into quilting I tried to figure out how I could do something that would be beneficial. I mentioned that to Cynthia England, my current employer and she told me one thing I was good at was to organizing and I might want to do retreats. She wanted to do a retreat, so we set a date for that. In case you missed it, we did make that happen and it was very successful.

At the beginning of the year I decided to put more action into my retreat business and I actually asked Denise if she would be willing to teach. She is a certified Judy Niemeyer instructor so I thought that several people would want to take advantage of her knowledge and see if she would be interested in doing retreats with me. She said “yes”!

“Sew” I’m taking advantage of that! As you know I LOVE retreats.

I wanted to share these HUGE strawberries that Mom and Dad brought to me on Sunday, they are the biggest ones I’ve ever see and they are very sweet! Thank you Mom and Dad for the treat!

these are the HUGE strawberries Mom and Dad brought to me on Sunday

these are the HUGE strawberries Mom and Dad brought to me on Sunday

all of them were big and this was ONE container

all of them were big and this was ONE container

I finally got to make some progress on my friendship bee blocks and I made two machine embroidery labels for quilts today. It doesn’t really sound like a lot, but I had software issues with my machine and between the software and myself – all I can say is UGH! I finally did get them stitched! Thank goodness! Tomorrow I plan to get them completely stitched up!

the fabric I chose

the fabric I chose

all cut up and ready to sew back together

all cut up and ready to sew back together

Cathy's label, she didn't want anything fancy

Cathy’s label, she didn’t want anything fancy

my label

my label

all ready to be into blocks

all ready to be into blocks

We got a little surprise this evening and we got to spend a little time with Wyatt and Kynlee – it was good to see them!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Inspires You?

  1. cathycarnew says:

    Love, love, love my new label! Thanks Ronda!

Leave a Reply

