Let’s Swap

Today was a great day, I got to go fabric shopping and then I went to get a much-needed pedicure. Later David and I went to meet an attorney to get our wills drawn up. It was good to get that taken care of, but I sure wanted to sew.

That was our topic for the Lakeview Quilt Guild tonight and Cynthia Regone was our guest speaker. She did a great job! She has tons of quilts that are all made as a result of particular swaps. I got a lot of ideas for future swaps! Yes, I know I said I didn’t want to do anymore, but I may have to eat my words.

Cynthia is also coming to the Baytown guild in July and I’m really looking forward to her class and lecture. She has been quilting since the 80’s – man I wished I had been sewing that long!

The entire time she spoke I was wishing I had taken my camera, but I did take my IPad. Then it clicked that I could use it to take pictures. Ugh! I am slowly catching on to this tablet thing. After her lecture I went up and took a few pictures of some of the quilts, there were so many, but these caught my eye for sure!

On the uneven nine-patch, she said that they only swapped those units and then she came back and added the big stars in the middle.

the uneven nine-patch

the uneven nine-patch

the border on the un-even nine-patch

the border on the un-even nine-patch

And I loved the Kaffe quilt, in this particular quilts she only traded the 6½-inch blocks and she added the nine-patches and the strips along with the setting triangles and the border.

Kaffe swap

Kaffe swap

with the Kaffe border

with the Kaffe border

The last quilt she showed were all the small triangles, it intrigues me.

100 small triangles

100 small triangles

She gave us a handout on swap guidelines; such as a theme, timing, tardy blocks, size, background, color and most importantly to make sure ones were committed to the swap. The possibilities are endless and it was a lot of fun. Thank you Cynthia for sharing all of your wonderful quilts.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

