Pre Wedding Day

Wednesday, April 9th was the big rehearsal day and packing day for all the decorations. Katie wanted rustic/western décor. Bennie had borrowed a couple of big barrels, a wagon wheel, sheave, and old plow and an old yoke. He also had to borrow a trailer to carry it all to the venue – Amber Springs in Montgomery, Texas.

My niece, Joanna flew in from Thailand on Sunday and came to my rescue on Monday. It was so nice to have her to load the car and to pack it. I have to say that I don’t think we could have packed one more item in the back of my 4-Runner.

my car all packed from head

my car all packed from head

pack to toe

pack to toe

Luckily the venue didn’t have anything planned in the hall that we reserved for the reception therefore we were able to begin to decorate on Wednesday, that was a great thing.

Joanna and I arrived at the venue about 2 p.m. and the 4 of us got the car unpacked and then we started placing the tables around the room and setting up the chairs. I was sure thankful for all the help I had with that, but my help slowly left me. Joanna’s jet lag hit a couple of hours after we got there and she wasn’t feeling well so she went to lie down. Brok needed to drive to Mont Belvieu and he left and about 45 minutes later he called and he was in a car wreck on 45, so Bennie went to help him. Thank goodness, Brok was ok – just shaken up!

I was really glad we got all the tables/chairs in position before they all left along with most of the tablecloths. I went to work on all the centerpieces for the tables. It went pretty well and I was able to get most of the tables all done, just a few finishing touches to add on Thursday. I also want to say thanks to Diana for letting me borrow her antlers, rope and spurs. They sure added a special touch to my table decorations.

barrel and stuff

barrel and stuff

table tops

table tops

table top, later I added baby breath to the water can

table top, later I added baby breath to the water can

more table stuff

more table stuff

table stuff

table stuff

another table top

another table top

table top

table top

table top

table top

table top

table top

this was on the corner of the bar.  I loved the ball and chain

this was on the corner of the bar. I loved the ball and chain

Jenna made this banner

Jenna made this banner

another table

another table, note – this was an old toy gun

more tables, I had 17 to decorate

more tables, I had 17 to decorate

our heirloom silver punch bowl and tray

our heirloom silver punch bowl and tray

one of the gift tables

one of the gift tables

gift table

gift table

inside the hall

inside the hall

at the other end of the bar

at the other end of the bar

Later that evening we had the wedding rehearsal. The girls were all perky, but I was pretty tired. ! It was fun to watch everyone and the venue was beautiful!

the groom and his men

the groom and his men

Katie is a happy girl

Katie is a happy girl

the girls and Mom

the girls and Mom

David fell into character

David fell into character

Codi and Katie

Codi and Katie

Katie and Joanna

Katie and Joanna

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Friends, Outdoors, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

