England Design Retreat Recap 2014

Wednesday we packed up and headed east to Kountze. Cynthia and Julie packed up a little earlier than I did and I picked up a retreater flying in from San Francisco. We ended up getting stuck in rush hour traffic and that was not fun (note to self for next time) so we decided to stop off and eat dinner to let traffic thin out. We left again around 7 and I had hoped that we would get there by 8:30 but I neglected to turn on my GPS and off we went – as I knew the way! After all, I had been there twice before!

All day Wednesday I had been trying to track down the lady and reserve the linens for Katie’s wedding, but I had no luck. I was trying not to panic, but the day was ticking by. I finally got a call from her and I was so relieved, but her call came right when I needed to be making a turn. I told her that I needed to go, but it was too late. I handed my phone to Lynette and ask her to help out as I was driving and it was DARK. Well needless to say we drove way out of our way, but finally got there around 10!

The good thing about getting lost was Cynthia and Julie already had done all the hard work and they helped me unload my car and we finished all of the prep work for the retreat.

our set up

our set up

more displays

more displays

Cynthia's quilt

Cynthia’s quilt

another quilt

another quilt

we had quilts everywhere

we had quilts everywhere

ready for our retreaters

ready for our retreaters

Thursday morning we had 21 eager students check in at the Stone Creek Lodge in Kountze, Texas.

welcome

welcome

Julie is a happy camper!

Julie is a happy camper!

Cynthia opened with instructions to make a duck. One would think that would be easy enough, but if you weren’t careful the duck would have body parts that it didn’t want or need. ☺

some of the ducks

some of the ducks

After we conquered the duck, she went into her design class. I think the class was split about half and half. Some students did their own picture and some just worked on one of her patterns.

Cynthia grabbed camera and snapped

Cynthia grabbed camera and snapped

Jenny and Sally

Kay is in the bottom corner, Jenny and Sally

Jill, Jill and Jackie

Jill, Jill and Jackie

Brenda and Cheryl

Brenda and Cheryl

It was fun to listen to some complain about different things – mostly the tiny pieces they had to work with. I teased Cynthia that this should be named “puzzle piecing”. As it is a lot like putting together a jigsaw puzzle, except the sizes are different.

Cynthia doing a demo

Cynthia doing a demo

Our hostesses at Stone Creek Lodge treated us like royalty and made delicious desserts for us to indulge in, they made us laugh and made sure we had plenty of coffee. A huge thanks goes out to Jamie, Sharon and Mollie.

Jamie, Sharon and Mollie

Jamie, Sharon and Mollie

The scenery was great; spring is a great time to go – we even had a beautiful dogwood tree outside.

the dogwood blooming in the back

the dogwood blooming in the back

the pond in the back

the pond in the back

I also want to send out a shout out to Ivy, she was the worker bee behind the scenes in the office and one of the reasons why we were successful was because we had her to support us. Thank you Ivy!

I worked on my pattern named “Quilts”, I had the bottom 2 rows already done before I got there. Julie and I had worked on them some last year. I hoped to finish it before I got home and luckily I did. I only need to add the border to completely finish it off.

puzzle piecing  :-)

puzzle piecing 🙂

me, Janice and Terri

me, Janice and Terri

my quilts all pieced

my quilts all pieced

Our first retreat was a huge success and we have reserved Stone Creek Lodge again for next year on April 9-12, 2015.

our retreaters

our retreaters

Julie, Cynthia and myself

Julie, Cynthia and myself

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to England Design Retreat Recap 2014

  1. mel2quilt says:

    This cabin looks like the one near Quitman in east Texas. I retreated twice there and we loved it. Looks like all of you had a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

