Spring Warrenton Treasures

What a day! Today was an early start, I picked up Mary and off we headed to shop the antiques fields of Warrenton. It took us forever to get out of Houston – got to enjoy some of the morning rush hour traffic!

We always enjoy our little journey as we get to catch up with one another – funny we never seem to run out of things to talk about.

We parked and off we went in search of our treasures – I was hoping to find some things to decorate some of the tables for the wedding. I would come up with some ideas and shoot them to Katie and more often than not – she would toss them out! I really wish our tastes were more alike!

I thing you can always expect out there is an assortment of weather changes. We got there and it was muggy with a little fog, then it burned off and it was just muggy, then the sun came out – it warmed up too much and it was downright hot! Then as we headed home it poured down rain and we had hail! We had it all but sleet and snow! We do love our Texas weather!

Back to our treasures… most of the time we seem to travel all the same routes in the same order, but not today. We seemed to go here and there. Why is it that our first purchase is always the hardest? After that it is downhill! ☺

Today my first purchase was a table for my featherweight sewing machine! It is so nice and I got it for a good price! Later we came across these 2 pretties!

One was a reproduction periodical display and they used it to hang quilts. I really liked it, kind of the wrong color and there is always this little voice in my head wondering where would I put it?

quilt rack

quilt rack

I saw this little metal mannequin – she has hankies all around her to make her a skirt! I thought of my cousins – we all love old hankies! I also found a couple more doilies dresses for my collection! Wahoo!

handkerchief use

handkerchief use

a close up

a close up

my new dresses

my new dresses

I bought a watering can to use on a table and I like this round white metal tiered basket – it has potential! I also found this metal distressed cake plate, not sure how I’m going to use it, but I liked it too! Oh – I got a bonus, I saw my friend, Peggy searching for treasures too! I was thinking she might be out there and there she was!

watering can and basket

watering can and basket

metal cake plate (not really food safe)

metal cake plate (not really food safe)

And the one thing I kept looking for was vintage luggage. It is very collectible right now, the prices seem to range all over the place. I found this white old Samsonite train case just like my mom used to have, I got that to use in the wedding deco and then I came across this little case. It caught my eye due to it’s unusual lines, later she told me that it was a sewing machine case!

my new "old" luggage

my new “old” luggage

inside the train case

inside the train case

inside the sewing case

inside the sewing case

One of the crafty things I want to do is to make a cover for my traveling sewing machine table. I came across this huge bin of quilted pillow shams – I thought they would do nicely – there were $1 each – love a bargain! Now I just need to put my plan in action!

my pillow shams

my pillow shams

Last but not least is this little tray, small iron and another spool. I want to use the little tray as a sewing supple tray to keep by the television. Time for bed!

tray, iron and spool

tray, iron and spool

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads! Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Friends, Outdoors, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Warrenton Treasures

  1. Peggy says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE all your treasures – especially the cake stand! And bonus to see you.

Leave a Reply

