Different Dye Lots

For some reason when I was younger, it was a very special day. It was a day that I celebrated turning “a half”! Remember the days of turning 10 and one half or even great was the day that I was 12 and a half, oh so close to be considered a teenager! Needless to say, I no longer celebrate the half birthdays! Ha!

Saturday when I was comparing my blocks to someone else’s I noticed a difference in the dye lots of our backgrounds that we are using for our Faceted Jewels swap. We chose the Andover fabric from the Jo Morton line “Toasted” and the dye lot “L” for our background. I love the fabric we choose, but when the fabric came in Ivy noticed a difference in the dye lot and I remember telling her that I didn’t think it was that much different and that we would be ok. Now I’m not so sure!

In a couple of months we will have enough of the swap done that we will be able to begin putting our blocks together. The components of the block are the 4-patches with the background, the v-blocks and the all dark 4-patches. Since I have my v-blocks done I decided to do a test block and see what the other “swappers” think. I have 7 with one color dye and 3 with the darker dye lot.

block play

block play

I am taking votes – what does one do???

the block stitched together

the block stitched together

Well, first off I decided to go eat dinner! That is what I do when I’m stressed! Ugh!
Really, we met Chuck and Brenda for dinner and then we went to their house to install her “birthday” shelf for her sewing room. Brenda and I supervised while the men did the installation!

Chuck and David installing the shelf

Chuck and David installing the shelf

David did an excellent job in making the shelf and installing it with his trusty assistant, Chuck! We all are happy campers!

shelf is installed!  :-)

shelf is installed! 🙂

I do love DONE!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

