Rodeo Roaming Quilt Reporter

I had my first volunteer shift to work at the rodeo last night, so I got dressed and off to work I went.

I decided to pack my pen and paper and take notes of some of the winners. I only know of one of the other people who entered a quilt in the show. These entries are made by area Go Texas Committees all around, almost like an old county fair.

Sue Garman was the grand prizewinner; she won Best of Division, Best of Show and Judges Choice for her entry of Sarah’s Revival. This is a beautiful quilt with lots of needle-turn applique!

Sue Garman's big winner

Sue Garman’s big winner

The Cherry Pie quilt is done by Jackie Hillman of Waller County. She got Best of Division and Best of Show.

The Cherry Pie quilt

The Cherry Pie quilt

The Crazy Quilt called Trees & Things is done by Jan Campbell of Brazoria SW County, she got Best of Division.

the crazy quilt

the crazy quilt

Quiet! Be Still was made by Charlene Everitt of San Jacinto County.

IMG_6058

My quilt represents the Baytown/Highlands and her name is Lincoln’s Ruby Watch and I was thrilled with my blue ribbon.

Lincoln's Ruby Watch

Lincoln’s Ruby Watch

The Gardeners was sewn by Nina Ellis of Anderson County.

The Gardeners

The Gardeners

The Chicken quilt was made by Mattie Ehler of Conroe/Willis County.

the chicken quilt

the chicken quilt

There are lots of quilts there and more ribbons. Go down and show your support of all the art that is on display. I hope you enjoy the show, I do apologize about the lighting, some of the pictures don’t really show how well they really look.

Hummingbirds in the Garden.  this one won the Committee's Choice

Hummingbirds in the Garden. this one won the Committee’s Choice

Free as the Wind, Best of Division

Free as the Wind, Best of Division

IMG_6065

IMG_6066

IMG_6067

IMG_6068

IMG_6069

IMG_6070

IMG_6071

IMG_6072

IMG_6073

IMG_6074

I checked into my volunteer post and pulled out my stitching bag. I do love the ability to “sew and go”. I had worked on my Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By” Patience block at home and I was hoping to finish it before I had to work. I stitched some in the office and after I got to my final post I was able to finish my block. I was one happy girl!

my finished block

my finished block

This morning Katie, Mom, Kynlee and myself drove to Montgomery to see the venue for her wedding and we did wedding stuff most of the day. This evening I was able to pull it all together and finish the quilt completely!

the blocks sewn to the border

the blocks sewn to the border

my words to live by

my words to live by

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts, Rodeo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rodeo Roaming Quilt Reporter

  1. Jack Massey says:

    Ronda, you do a beautiful story telling, and quilting show. Keep enjoying what you are doing. LOL.

  2. Ron Bible says:

    Very nice. You did good.

  3. Barbara says:

    It sounds like you are a rodeo volunteer. I love seeing the quilts at the rodeo but they are so poorly displayed, at least for photographing, behind those glass walls that reflect all the light from the huge windows. It would be wonderful if you could convince the powers that be at the rodeo to at least photograph the quilts directly (not behind glass) and post them on a website where everyone can actually see them in detail.
    Love the name of your blog…so clever.

    • ronda926 says:

      hi Barbara, yes I am a volunteer, but I’m on a completely different committee. I have no say whatsoever in their process, in fact I don’t have say in anything there! ha! I will try to do a little digging and see how I could make a few suggestions. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

