Last One!

Yesterday Katie and Joseph went to the rodeo so we got to watch the kids while they were gone. Wow, it has been a long time since I’ve picked up kids after daycare and I’m here to say, “Picking them up was HARD!” That is why God gave raising children to the younger adults.

After we got home it was playtime and we had a great time, especially when it came to bath time – Wyatt is going to be a swimmer!

Wyatt laying in the bathtub

Wyatt laying in the bathtub

Wyatt and bubbles

Wyatt and bubbles

After the kids went to bed I was able to do some stitching and it was good busy work to do before K&J got here.

This morning I’m rushing around trying to get ready and off to work and I thought that I’d call David before I left the house, so I go to the phone to call him and I notice that there are messages on the phone. So I listen to the messages and then I’m researching stuff and realize that the phone is out of place and needs to be put up! Then I go to put up the phone and then I realized that I never called David. Ugh! Do you ever do that?

After I got home from work I wanted to get finished with my Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By” Humor block, sew I sat down and finished the last of the stitches! Wahoo!

Humor is complete

Humor is complete

So I got busy with the last block getting it ready, but I decided after discussing it with several people, to make a small change on the last block. I got all the pieces traced, cut out, placed on the fabric, and ironed down. I got them all carefully placed on the fabric and ready to stitch.

the last block

the last block

pieces of the block all cut out

pieces of the block all cut out

all carefully placed

all carefully placed

The last block was designed to have stitched by: and my name, but I got to thinking that it might be best to have that as a label instead of a block on the front of the quilt. I started thinking about the words in the quilt and see if any meaningful words were missing! The words in the quilt blocks are: joy, love, kindness, hospitality, loyalty, trust, hope, honor, charity, passion, courage, and family. The cornerstones have respect, unity, and humor. The list pretty well covers everything except two big words that really struck home with me. Truth came to mind first, because I really think that it is very important; then this morning I was getting ready and the word came to me was “patience”. The word “patience” is one of the things that I struggle with on a daily basis, so patience won.

the word added and it is ready to stitch

the word added and it is ready to stitch

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last One!

  1. Starla Peacock says:

    Great choice of words. I struggle with that also.
    Starla

Leave a Reply

