Successful Retreat!

I had a very successful sewing retreat in Camp Blanding; at least I think I did and I’m back on “real time” as our internet didn’t work all that well in our rooms. Since today was our last day I really tried to finish up my half square borders for Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By” quilt. I got them all stitched together and they are now all together! I’m one happy camper, now all I need to do is finish my cornerstones. I hope to work on one of them on the airplane tomorrow. This project sure has been a long and challenging undertaking, needless to say, I sure will be glad when it is finished! Slow and steady finishes the race.

half square borders DONE!

half square borders DONE!

all of them!

all of them!

Today as we were in line for lunch we were talking to a lady and she likes to work on different projects everyday, as she gets board with them. I don’t know what her cycle is, but still progress is progress.

I had cut out fabric for a baby quilt using Riley Blake fabric and I used the Swirly Girls pattern called Equal Rights. I downsized the pattern to 5 rows down and 6 rows across. I first had to make the 12 bordered blocks, which they went together well after I had to re-cut the centers (I cut them too small) and then I laid out how I wanted them to go. I was hoping to get all the rows sewed up lengthwise before it was time to pack up and leave.

my framed triangle blocks

my framed triangle blocks

all laid out

all laid out

Mission accomplished!

all of the rows are together, now I just have to attach them to one another.  note this upside down.

all of the rows are together, now I just have to attach them to one another. note this upside down.

About 3:00 I started packing up my little station and getting things together. Oh my word, I had way too much stuff, where did all this stuff come from? I didn’t think I had bought that many bargain, but apparently I did! I had absolutely NO room for my Ott light. So I decided to get it all in the car and re-pack once we got back to Gloria’s. I had a great lesson in logistics, if I have to open any bag – no telling what will pop out and I know my little overnight bad weighs almost 50 pounds! I did get it all in there and that was not an easy task!

I really want to thank all the girls that graciously fixed food and provided services for our group, especially Donna, Diane and Wynette. They did an outstanding job, thanks again for all of your hard work, I sure enjoyed myself!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

