Churn Dashing Away!

This was our last full day of sewing, kind of sad in a way! I guess all good things come to an end, but it has sure been fun. This group you can always be guaranteed to have lots of laughter and great friendships – I’ve sure grown to love these women!

Today I got to my station and started working on my churn dashes, I had to finish set 8 and completely do 9 and 10. I had a plan, but it hit a snag when we had demonstrations scheduled off and on during the day. We learned an easy way to make a casserole dish cover, English paper piecing, spinning stars, a demo on the tumbler block. Vicky showed different quilts to make with that and suggested that this is a great way to use up scraps! However that would mean going through my scraps and organizing them to some degree and that would take some time!

tumbler quilt done in scraps

tumbler quilt done in scraps

homespun tumbler quilt

homespun tumbler quilt

Starla worked on finishing her notebook cover – it turned out really nicely! Good job, Starla. Oh and look at her cute notebook cover.

Starla's notebook cover

Starla’s notebook cover

cover all finished

cover all finished

Starla's notepad cover

Starla’s notepad cover

I worked on my churn dashes until after dinner and I finally finished them. Oh my goodness, I was thrilled to say the least. I am so tired of working with half square triangles or at least making them. I had to do 672 for the Words to Live By quilt and for the churn dash I ended up making 480 more half square triangles; that is a total of 1152 half square triangles! Enough already! Ok, I know…NO whining in quilting! However, I was elated when I was finished.

last two sets of churn dash

last two sets of churn dash

churn dashes all finished

churn dashes all finished

I did take a little break to go take my last Florida sunset picture for a while. I hope you enjoy it, Lake Kingsley shows it off pretty well, regardless of the clouds and I was a little tardy!

our sunset

our sunset

another view of sunset

another view of sunset

After I finished the churn dashes, I got to finish my iron caddy. I think it turned pretty cute.

my iron caddy before the binding is done

my iron caddy before the binding is done

my iron caddy all finished

my iron caddy all finished

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

