Cousin Time 2014

I’ve been missing in action lately. Wednesday was a crash and burn day and I didn’t really do much of anything except rest and clean in my playroom. You can now see my floor! Strides were made, wahoo!

I worked Thursday and I was able to get a good bit done there and after that we took Katie, Joseph and the kids out to Olive Garden. It was sure good to see the kiddos, I haven’t seen them in a few weeks. Oh my word, they have sure grown, especially Ms. Kynlee! Today Wyatt is 18 months old and Kynlee is 4 months old.

Wyatt says Cheese

Wyatt says Cheese

happy boy Wyatt

happy boy Wyatt

sweet Kynlee

sweet Kynlee

more of Kynlee

more of Kynlee

This morning I picked up mom a little after 7 and I drove us to Wimberley Quilt Ranch for a Massey cousin getaway weekend. We divided up the meals and Mom and I had the meal tonight.

After dinner, I made my block for Phyllis in the friendship bee. I think this block is so cute. I just may have to do one of these quilts.

this is Phyllis' fabric

this is Phyllis’ fabric

IMG_5877

all together

all together

While I was sewing, my cousin Jerriann was given a quilt by her dad, my Uncle Jerry a crazy quilt that was quilted my great-grandmother, Mary Zill Wright. She was born in 1870 in Roberts county Texas. The quilt was made about 1886, Mary Zill Wright married James Leamon and their children were Mary Alma Leamon and Floy Anice Leamon. My grandmother was Floy Anice Leamon.

the crazy quilt

the crazy quilt

crazy quilt

crazy quilt

IMG_5881

IMG_5882

IMG_5884

look at the "foxtail" fringe

look at the “foxtail” fringe

How neat is that! I’m so thankful that my cousin Jerriann takes the time to research all of the family genealogy and has traced the Massey family (my mom’s side) line back to the 1640 when James Massey was born in Yorkshire County, England and migrated the colonies in Pennsylvania.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

