What a Whirlwind!

In case you didn’t know or think about it – Vegas is two hours later (or earlier in the day) than Texas time! We got up at 5 in order to check out of the hotel and be on our way to St. George, Utah. The goal was to visit Superior Threads and then go to Scrap Apple Quilts. Somewhere in there we got another time change, not sure where, I think when we went through Arizona. Yes, you need to check your geography, you have to drive on the roads, and that is how they took us. Regardless, we lost an hour, but the trip is still a 2 hour drive, but 3 on the clock. See how confusing this is!

Anyway, off we go, our last little excursion before heading back home! We got off in good time and even saw snow on the ground in Utah then we went to the wrong place. Somehow I had plugged in the wrong address in my phone. That was one detour that I had not planned on. Darn it, I hate that when it happens. We called and sure enough we figured it out and got to their shop. They recently added fabric to the other side of their business. We got a very nice tour of their “working” warehouse. It was extremely clean and very efficiently ran, I was very impressed and so was David. Their thread business has really grown and is still growing.

After the tour, we got to shop! Oh my goodness, I had a hot flash and I had to take off my coat. David is such a wonderful husband, he never once complained and willingly carried all of my goodies. We did plan that he would keep me on a time schedule, because we knew that we could not miss our flight and we had to allow for the drive back to Vegas.

outside of Superior Fabrics

outside of Superior Fabrics

inside the Thread side

inside the Thread side

goodies everywhere

goodies everywhere

they even had a Thread Quilt

they even had a Thread Quilt

bobbins galore

bobbins galore

a closer look of the bobbins

a closer look of the bobbins

this is where the bobbins are made

this is where the bobbins are made

more bobbins

more bobbins

this is quilt on display to show off the variegated thread

this is quilt on display to show off the variegated thread

a closer view

a closer view

After the thread shop we went to the fabric side of the building and I got to some goodies there. They had some of their Christmas patterns on sale and I got “Joy” by Laundry Basket Quilts and 4 packs of the silhouettes for the pattern. They were all half off! Score!

The entire trip I had to be careful of my phone, I forgot my car charger. We used my phone as a navigation system, which was great, but it sure zapped my battery. Well this happened again today. I was so excited in the thread store that I forgot to plug in and charge my phone while we toured and shopped. Ugh! Now I’m low on battery to find our next shop.

David filled up on gas while I was in the fabric store and we had our ducks in a row. I was ready at Superior Fabrics when he got back and then we were off to the next store.

He had already written down the directions since we were struggling with the battery. Well we get to where we thought we needed to go and no shop! I made a quick call to Denise and she saved the day. She gave me their address and phone. Another detour, but we were still good on time.

This time while I shopped, David went to Subway to get us sandwiches so we could have lunch on the way back and not have to stop again. Oh my goodness, a great shop to visit. If you ever go to Vegas or in their neck of the woods you should visit Scrap Apple Quilts, you won’t be disappointed!

outside of Scrap Apple Quilts

outside of Scrap Apple Quilts

batiks

batiks

more fabric choices

more fabric choices

a lot to choose from

a lot to choose from

They had some sale items and I scored again! Wahoo, one happy customer. I was out of the store 15 minutes early. I made some bonus points!

We got back to Vegas, turned in the rental car and got to the airport on time. Luckily the weather held out in Houston and we were able to get home safely!

Thank you to my gracious husband, David for being so willing to take me to so many quilt shops! I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What a Whirlwind!

  1. Robert Croft says:

    Date: Wed, 29 Jan 2014 07:03:00 +0000 To: ivcroft@msn.com

  2. I loved the tour of Superior Threads. I am so glad you loved Scrap Apple Quilts – I have not been there before but have retreated with two of the fabulous employees! Now that I have seen your photos I really really want to go visit them!

  3. nsturgill says:

    Scrap Apple has a phenomenal collection of batiks. And Superior threads live up to their name!

    • ronda926 says:

      I really enjoyed my trip to their store and you are absolutely right! Superior Threads is what I use and they do a great job hosting a tour. I’m glad the timing worked out that we were able to go!

Leave a Reply

