Lost Wages

Saturday morning we fly out to Las Vegas. David booked us a time-share weekend, you know where they give you the free hotel and you just have to get there and listen to the sales pitch. So we are here and we will listen to it Monday morning.

Since we could not check into our hotel until 4:00 p.m. I had an alternate plan to go visit some of the areas quilt stores. I talked to my friend; Brenda and she suggested her favorite 3 stores. Our flight arrived about 10, but it was around noon our time. We decided to rent a car, so I got a snack while David rented the car. I suggested to David that Brenda said that the shop in Henderson had a lot of stores around it, so off we went. We headed to Quiltque in Henderson. I have to say that going to a quilt store in other towns is about one of the most exciting things. Some of you are just like me and some of you may be shocked by this news flash! Ha! Not!

Oh my word, we walked into this bright and cheery store and there were probably over 100 people in the store, and they were all abuzz. Come to find out, it was “visit your local quilt shop day” and they had a trunk show by Diane Nagle.

Quitlque in Henderson

Quitlque in Henderson

going into the front door

going into the front door

brights everywhere

brights everywhere

I had a mission to get fabric for my upcoming workshop with The Swirly Girls, Susan Emory on 2/2 so I needed a fabric acquisition event. ☺ Look what I found! This is way out of my color ways, but it just spoke to me. Come to find out, it is fabric designed by Heather Bailey. When I scrapbooked, I bought her paper! Plus I got this cute little bag pattern.

this is the cute sample i liked

this is the cute sample i liked

my fabric I choose for my next project

my fabric I choose for my next project

this is the pattern I got

this is the pattern I got

After that we drove into “the District” area which is very much like driving around the Highland Village area of the Galleria, but more spacious. There were tons of nice shops there and we were looking for something different to have lunch. We found the Elephant Bar. It was very good; we splurged on a different drink, appetizer, and lunch. We rolled out of there and went strolling around to some of the shops.

The Elephant Bar

The Elephant Bar

parmasen crusted green beans

parmasen crusted green beans

our drinks

our drinks

my yummy lunch

my yummy lunch

David and his yummy lunch

David and his yummy lunch

We are still killing time before we can check in, so we ventured out to two more quilt stores. The next one was Fabric Boutique and the last one was The Christmas Goose. Fabric Boutique was a huge shop but I didn’t find anything there and then we went to The Christmas Goose. That was a great shop, they had lots of things to look at and droll over, they are going to have Lisa Bongean of Primitive Gatherings there in the shop on Tuesday (the day we leave) and Wednesday to teach a class – darn I just missed her. Oh well, I found 4 batiks there and one piece of end of bolt.

outside the Fabric Boutique

outside the Fabric Boutique

outside the Christmas Goose

outside the Christmas Goose

inside the store

inside the store

this project was in the back and I liked it

this project was in the back and I liked it

a close up of the corner

a close up of the corner

By this time, it was time to go to the hotel and off we went. We got checked in and later ventured out around the hotel. We were off on our timing so after we had a light dinner we went to the room to watch “Captain Phillips” in our room.

I want to send out a special happy anniversary wish to my son Brok and his wife, Candice. I hope you have a wonderful and very special day.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lost Wages

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Looks like y’all are haveing fun. Enjoy

  2. Shelly Browne (Brian McQuin's friend) says:

    David looks well and rested after his BQ.

    Did you enjoy the timeshare? Which one was it?

    What did ya think of Captain Phillips?

Leave a Reply

