It Seemed Like a Good Idea

Since I was not going to be able to run the Houston Marathon this year I got the idea to ride my bicycle around the marathon course. I made plans with my friend Doug to ride around the course. Last night we finalized takeoff time and what all we needed.

Doug picked my bike and me up at 6 and off we went. We parked near Minute Maid Ballpark and took off. We could hear the anthem and the loud speaker from where we were. It was very exciting, so off we go. The route that the runners were doing this year had changed and I wasn’t familiar with the course. Right off the bat, I could tell that my bike would not change gears; silly me thought that it would fix itself on the course. Let me just clear that up – it DID NOT! I rode the course in my “granny gear” and it was tough, not to mention the fact that the last time I rode was back in July. Why in the world do I get the crazy notions that I’m capable of doing things I haven’t done in a long time? Why didn’t I take my bike out yesterday and do a practice ride? Lessons learned!

We navigated the course and got around to mile one and I found David, I was so excited. David told me I was too slow! So we rode ahead and I stopped and I was able to get a picture of him. Doug’s wife, Marissa was running as well, we saw her and got a picture of her and Kim. Off we go again to the next point.

we even saw some friends along the way.  hello to Diane and Kelly

we even saw some friends along the way. hello to Diane and Kelly

We drove over to University Drive; Doug was trying to squeeze in between a police car and a barricade. I was behind him watching, he ended up bumping the police car and in slow motion he just tumbles over. We laid the bikes down and off to see the runners, we barely got there in time, but we got to see David. Again, he told me I was slow! Ugh, I was doing the best I could, but I was struggling! We also got to see Marissa and Kim.

David in West U

David in West U

Marissa and Kim in W U

Marissa and Kim in W U

It seemed like every spot we went to we were too late, we rode around to and we took off to Westpark, but we didn’t see them. We drove over to Post Oak and I’m still struggling with my bike, Doug got way ahead of me. Somehow I was trying to get on the sidewalk so I’m looking for a good place to drive on the sidewalk and I hit it wrong with my tire and it was my turn to fall down. Oh my word, that hurt! Luckily Doug didn’t see me. I guess that is what I get for laughing at him earlier!

By this time, I was ready to give up and just get to one spot and wait, so that is what we did. We rode over to Memorial Park, which was about mile 20 and waited for them. We saw him, he was doing well and off he went. After Marissa came by we decided to drive further down Memorial to the beer truck, we just sat there and had beer. That was pretty good until we had to get back on the darn bike again.

Doug was easy to spot

Doug was easy to spot

here comes David in Memorial Park

here comes David in Memorial Park

off he goes

off he goes

Marissa in Memorial Park, doing well

Marissa in Memorial Park, doing well

a good spot to sit and watch

a good spot to sit and watch

We finally got back to the truck and loaded up the bikes and we went to Christian’s Tailgate in Midtown for a celebration lunch. David had a great run; he did a 3:53, which qualifies him to run Boston again, I’m very proud of him. Marissa ran a personal best today. Her finishing time was 3:55. Congratulations to Marissa!

our celebration lunch

our celebration lunch

celebration with friends

celebration with friends

Tomas and Doug

Tomas, Doug and Tony

David, one happy camper!

David, one happy camper!

All in all, we had a great time, but should we do this again we will do some things differently. Congratulations to all the finishers!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Friends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It Seemed Like a Good Idea

  1. Great job David and Marissa! I wish I had been there to get some candid photos of “Lucy” on her bike in granny gear! You made my morning with your fun, whimsy and inspiration!

    • ronda926 says:

      we were a mess that is for sure. I didn’t even mention that neither of us wore the right riding shorts with the extra cushion in it. which leads to a sore bottom.

  2. Ron Bible says:

    Glad all went well and y’all had fun.

Leave a Reply

