Celebrating Cheryl

My weekend went by entirely too quickly, how about yours? Early Friday morning Cathy picked me up around 6:30 and we drove to LaGrange. Brenda has a house in the country and is a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of the “city” life. However I did miss the fact that cell phone and Internet isn’t a key function in their way of life. Less time to waste on researching things on the computer! ☺ We were celebrating Cheryl’s birthday all weekend.

I love going to the country, every time I drive to that part of Texas I always remember driving to my Granny house on the farm in Grosebeck. It always seemed the food was better and time would fly by. One of the best things out there is that there is always a breeze. I can remember my mom telling Granny that and do you know there are tons of STARS in the sky! Simply beautiful and amazing!

Friday late afternoon we drove to the town square to have lunch and to visit the quilt store there. We ate lunch at Bistro 108. It was wonderful! After we had our nourishment, we were strong enough to go quilt shopping. Ha!

the front of the museum

the front of the museum

look they are neighbors

look they are neighbors

the wall outside the museum

the wall outside the museum

the gardens next to the museum

the gardens next to the museum

The quilt store is right off the square. The name is The Quilted Skein and it right next door to the Texas Quilt Museum. It is a lovely store that has fine finishes and is warm and cozy. As you walk into the shop you are greeted with Kaffe Fassett fabric on the left and a lovely display of knitting yarn on the right. I asked if I could take pictures and they said it was ok. Should you ever have the opportunity to visit this area I highly recommend it! We didn’t take the time to visit the museum, but we will be back.

I love the bubble glass

I love the bubble glass

their shingle outside

their shingle outside

look at all the yarn

look at all the yarn

I love all the fabric

I love all the fabric

looking into the shop from the front

looking into the shop from the front

in the back, reproduction prints

in the back, reproduction prints

they even had a garden section

they even had a garden section

from the back of the shop to the front door

from the back of the shop to the front door

Friday night I got to sew on some of my berries of my Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By”. Life is great on the farm! Saturday and Sunday I worked on my swap for my batik Faceted Jewels. Needless to say I didn’t get as much accomplished that I had hoped, but progress is progress!

my progress on my center

my progress on my center

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Celebrating Cheryl

  1. I love the Bistro! I also found the Quilted Skein to be a delightful shop! Glad you gals had fun!

Leave a Reply

