Faceted Jewels One

Sorry to bore everyone with my notes on the faceted jewel swap, but there were so many questions regarding what to do I decided to write it out and take pictures. Nothing like step-by-step visual instructions, so here goes. These pictures are all from the reproduction swap, but they do work for the batik side – just different fabric. Next time I will try and do the batik side first. In case that does not make sense, I’m making two of these quilts (yes, my head needs to be examined) one done in reproductions and one done in batiks.

our batik background

our batik background

our background for the reproduction group

our background for the reproduction group

I chose my 16 different fabrics; these are to be used in your border so I chose more medium to dark. You want it to be more dark fabric so your circles will pop more.

From your 16 fabrics, you are to cut TWO 2-1/2” strips. I paired up my strips, and then I cut them to 25-inch lengths. Next you are sub-cutting to 2-1/2 inch length = (2.5 X 10 = 25) I did add about half an inch for good measure.

some of my strips

some of my strips

now pairs of my strips

now pairs of my strips

more pairs

more pairs

I now have 16 sets of strips that are about 25 inch long and a stack of 32 “bone pile” shorter lengths. Now you can sew from your bone pile making different pairings to make 16 short stacks. Now cut your 2-patches

my bone pile

my bone pile

my bone pile now in pairs

my bone pile now in pairs

Pull 4 and make your ten 4-patches and pull from your short stacks to make the remaining 7 4-patches. That is your seventeen 4-patches for the swap. Please re over your pattern, the pattern states that you only need seventeen 4-patches. The rest of the border is comprised of the 2-patches.

my 17 4-patches

my 17 4-patches

Press to the dark!

I made ten different stacks and put 20 in each stack, the directions say to make twenty stacks of 10, and you can do either way. This will give you your 200 2-patches and keep 6 for your own quilt.

some of my 2-patches

some of my 2-patches

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

