Shake a Leg

It has been a great Sunday around here. The cold front blew in this morning; it was shaking things up pretty well. I love it when there is a brisk chill in the air! I had to go to the hardware store and make an exchange and I got a new rod to hang a quilt on the wall in the extra bedroom. Then I drove out to work to pick up all the fabric for a swap we are doing.

The swap that I’m putting together is to make a quilt from Glad Creations called Faceted Jewels. I have 2 different groups, one is reproduction group and the other one is a batik group. We have 10 people in each group and this is my first time to manage a group such as this. Thank goodness my friend, Denise did all the calculations. She is a lot better at this than I am. We are not trading blocks, but components. I hope it all works out right!

Faceted Jewel pattern cover

Faceted Jewel pattern cover

While I was gone, David hung a quilt of mine. I love it and it just makes me smile! It is one I had quilted by Denise back in September. Edyta Sitar of Laundry Basket Quilts called Dresden Star designed the pattern. It was from a class I took from her, she does a great class if you ever get an opportunity to take one of her classes it is well worth the cost!

My Dresden star

My Dresden star

a close up of the corner

a close up of the corner

David has become very handy making shelves to hang above the window, so I asked him to make me another one and he is making two more for my friends. He has already made 3; maybe we/he should do this as a side job! They are great to put my toys or other decorations on.

for the shelves

for the shelves

the brackets for the shelves

the brackets for the shelves

My friend, Cathy bought a new longarm quilting machine in November and it was delivered around the 12th of December. She did a practice quilt and today she called and she quilted her first “real” quilt. It was for her stepmother, Hester. She called her dad and told him the bill was $500. We all got a big laugh out of that! All kidding aside, she did a great job!

some of Cathy's quilting

some of Cathy’s quilting

a close up, I'm not too sure you can see it

a close up, I’m not too sure you can see it

she even did feathers

she even did feathers

from the back

from the back

I got all the stems stitched on my center for my Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By” quilt. Now I am ready to start sewing down the berries. That is pretty exciting to me!

my center

my center

David got all the plants pulled in and protected. It is predicted to be in the 20’s here, that is pretty cold for the coastal area of Houston.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shake a Leg

  1. I have my geese done for the other FJ swap. Now I need to hustle and get my patches done for this swap!

  2. Cathy did a GREAT job on Hester’s quilt! I hope she comes to bee tonight and brings the quilt!

  3. I can’t wait to see the background fabric for our FJ exchange!

Leave a Reply

