Welcoming Brok Home

I don’t know about you, but I sure take my “usual” good health for granted. Yesterday was the first day since Monday that I felt well and I have to say it feels great! I still have a few stomach gnarls here and there, but for the most part things are going well. Wahoo!

Yesterday I ran errands and started pulling things that we were going to use to decorate for the welcome home party for Brok to celebrate returning from Qatar.

This morning David ran 18 miles and I was packing and getting ready for the celebration. After he got home, we started packing up stuff to head to Channelview. We get to the church and start decorating, we are a little ahead of schedule and all is going well. About 11:20 I get a call from Candice asking me “where was I?” I told her “we were decorating at the church”. She said “which church?” I said “Dell Dale” (which is normally the church that we go to for these events). Mom and Dad were even there to help David and I. Of course, I flipped out and then it was crunch time. She wanted to know how I got into the church and we told her it was open. Candice asked me if I needed help un-decorating and I said “yes”. Oh my goodness, nothing like a big dose of panic at the last minute.

We un-decorated and went to the OTHER church. It is kind of funny now, but it sure wasn’t at the time! We re-grouped quickly and got the other church all decorated before Brok got there.

some table decorations

some table decorations

It was fun pulling some of my patriotic stuff and my quilts that I have, we were able to hang on the wall.

the yummy cake

the yummy cake

my Lone star and cake

my Lone star and cake

Brok and Kyle arrived and Brok was surprised! We had a great time, we had a potluck lunch and our friend, Diana made the cake, she made a seedless raspberry white cake. Diana, you did a fabulous job, it was delicious and best of all there are leftovers! Wahoo!

Brok enters.  Kyle told him they were going to a garage sale

Brok enters. Kyle told him they were going to a garage sale

it was wonderful to see him

it was wonderful to see him

welcome home

welcome home

Thanks to all the people who came, it was great visiting with you and most of all thanks for helping us celebrate Brok’s safe return home!

friends and hugs

friends and hugs

greetings

greetings

I asked Hailey if she liked the cake and she gave me sad eyes and said no.  it was funny

I asked Hailey if she liked the cake and she gave me sad eyes and said no. it was funny

love the blue smile

love the blue smile

Hunter loves the icing

Hunter loves the icing

Kynlee says welcome home too!

Kynlee says welcome home too!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

