Block Challenge

David passed his test this morning; while he was in the back I had my little space all to myself and had a little sewing party. Just in case they had stuff on the television that I didn’t want to listen to, I took my music. Oh, I was so glad I did, I was able to tune out the television and tune in to my Christmas music and got busy!

Last night I decided to finish all of my cutting on my “Words to Live By” center so I would be able to get going this morning at the doctor’s office. I went ahead and got all of my pieces placed where they needed to be. I have enjoyed using the staple trick.

all of the leaves are layed out

all of the leaves are layed out

Although I didn’t get that far, I was proud that I was able to have it to sew on. It was fun to watch the other people be board with what they brought, some had a crossword and this one lady was playing games on her phone and making noise with every button she pushed. Someone needed to tell her to silence that, but not me! Ugh! Anyway, I did get 3 of my little leaves sewed on, only 13 more.

what I have done so far

what I have done so far

Yesterday I worked on my first ever block challenge for the Lakeview guild. Our guild meeting and Christmas party is tonight. This guild has HUGE talent and I know I won’t win, but it was fun to participate. We were given two different fabrics and we could use some or all and we could add to the fabrics. So I got to work. I had already designed what I wanted to make, I just had to sew it up. This is what I came up with.

this is the fabric that the guild furnished

this is the fabric that the guild furnished

thesis the fabric I added

this is the fabric I added

For the first time, I used Deb Tucker’s V-Block ruler. I loved the way it worked and you don’t have to worry about the points so much, I had to go to her website to listen to her demo it, but after that all is good. What do you think on my block?

my block challenge

my block challenge

After we got home from the doctor and having lunch I decided to work on another Friendship bee block. I got behind due to non-attendance, now I’m all caught up. I will see her tonight so I wanted to get it finished. It was SUPER easy, but very cute.

my friendship bee block pieces

my friendship bee block pieces

I almost forgot to take pictures, very easy and quick

I almost forgot to take pictures, very easy and quick

my block, I think it is a very cute block, I might have to make a quilt like this

my block, I think it is a very cute block, I might have to make a quilt like this

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

