One of My Traditions

Thirty-four years ago today, my Granny passed away. It is one of things that I will never forget. It happened to be a Sunday and we were ALL at church. When I was younger and the phone rang during church, one always seemed to know that it was something bad. That day, it did run the predictable course. The phone rang and my parents always sat on the second from the front row/center isle. I sat more in the middle and on the left-hand side. So when the phone rang, someone went to the front, leaned over and told my dad that something had happened. Then I remember watching my Mom walk out and my 2 sisters and my brother. Well then I had to go see what happened and then Bennie and I left as well. Needless to say, we had quite the commotion going on.

I did put my two Grandmothers on a pedestal and I loved them dearly. I am honored to have known them; I just wished I were older, I was only 21, so that I could have learned more from them. Her name was Floy Anice and her birthday was July 19, 1898, she was 81. My mother was the youngest of nine children and she was extremely close to her. I think one of the hardest things as a child, we hate for our parents to hurt, so upon the one-year anniversary of her death I tried to think of something that would be a tribute and also honor my Granny. Each year and for the last 33 years, I have given my mom a poinsettia on this day. My Granny loved Christmas, so it has been a good way for me to say to my mother, that I love her dearly and yet let her know I was thinking of both of them.

my wonderful Momma

my wonderful Momma

I actually gave mom the plant yesterday, but I wanted to share the story with you all. I hope you have special days that you can make traditions out of.

Today I had to go for a “health care visit” and then I came home and stitched! I know, you are probably surprised that I did that. Ha! I am about half way finished with my Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By” Passion block.

my stitches on my Passion block

my stitches on my Passion block

We had a Christmas party with the Bay Area Running Club in League City. It was a nice gathering and good to see friends that I hadn’t seen in a while.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One of My Traditions

  1. Delores Ellis says:

    A beautiful tradition to mark a loss with a flower that is so loved by many!

  2. Ron Bible says:

    Thank you Ronda, your the best. She was a great woman and I will always miss her.. Love Dad

Leave a Reply

