My Machine Still Works

Today is the first time I’ve had my sewing machine turned on in the last two weeks, and it still works. Ha! I just haven’t needed it since I have been doing all the wool applique. So today I needed to do 2 blocks for the Baytown quilt guild president, as our meeting and Christmas party was tonight. I decided to make my Baked Potato Casserole, it sounded the best and it wasn’t all that time consuming. Of course, I had to go to the store! David ended up getting home early today, so he came in and asked me if I wanted him to peel the potatoes? Oh, happy dance, I was sure hoping he would ask me that, I told him it would be wonderful if he would. I was thrilled.

While he did that I finished up my blocks. I wanted to pass on a tip that I learned from Bonnie Hunter. She really teaches and uses a lot of chain piecing – it is a huge time saver! When you are putting together blocks you take the first two blocks and sew them together. Do not cut! Then take the next two blocks (they should be right under the 2 you just sewed together). You just keep doing this until you have a long string of pieces.

my fabric for the president's blocks - Maple leaf

my fabric for the president’s blocks – Maple leaf

all layer out

all layer out

the other one ready

the other one ready

see all the chain stitching

see all the chain stitching

all done, ready for the next row

all done, ready for the next row

Now you take the string of pieces and add the next block, just as you did in the first row, do this all the way down. In this case since I was doing two blocks and there are nine squares to each block, I did cut and separate the nine away from the other nine. Now you have them all in the way they go, they won’t get crisscrossed. Just nest your seams in there and sew them together, press and you are done. I really like to use this method, but you do need to pay attention or you will get confused. I guess confusion could happen regardless. Ha! I hope this makes sense; maybe the pictures will help explain it better. You may want to give it a try.

all the chaining is done, now to sew together the rows

all the chaining is done, now to sew together the rows

pressed and ready to go

pressed and ready to go

Then I did my Christmas display of North Pole houses. I got them all unpacked and set up. They look pretty good, best part – they are done! David did my “mini” tree last night. I was so excited. I love that tree, but it takes forever. All the ornaments are little miniatures and are about an inch tall. I do love progress!

my mini tree

my mini tree

my north pole houses

my north pole houses

my ladder with houses

my ladder with houses

I wanted to share my decorated buffet and the gingerbread on the tree beside it. I would say they are my favorites, but I love them all – they give me joy!

my buffet with the gingerbread

my buffet with the gingerbread

my gingerbread tree

my gingerbread tree

I signed up to decorate a table at the guild meeting, so I took my plates and some of my Christmas treasures to share with my friends. This is my table, thanks Linda for helping me.

my table for the meeting tonight

my table for the meeting tonight

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

