Full Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is my all time favorite holiday. I love the food and I love my family gathering. I don’t know about you, but why does it seem that a lot of work goes into a single event and it seems that it only takes about 10 minutes to finish off all the hard work.

Katie and kids came over yesterday afternoon and she was very helpful and productive. Katie made spinach dip, sausage balls, pumpkin bread, fruit salad and sausage pinwheels. I made a pecan pie, broccoli-rice casserole and strawberry pretzel salad. I also started making the dressing! This was my first time to make Mom’s dressing and I was kind of freaked out about it. I had her instructions, but my expectations are very high! After all, it is my mom’s recipe, hopefully I could make it ok.

This morning I made pumpkin pie, sweet potato soufflé, baked the pinwheels and finished the dressing, and got the lunch on the table. Lunchtime was set for one. The dressing was a big “flop”! I thought it was too gummy; the rest of the lunch was great!

Lunch is served

Lunch is served

I love to decorate

I love to decorate

the dessert, snack table

the dessert, snack table

One of our traditions is to take pictures, they kids always balked about it when they were small, but now they expect it and is funny to hear them say it is picture time. I do love my family and I’m very proud of them. I enjoyed watching them, but I did miss my other 2 sons and their families that weren’t here.

Josh was acting goofy, and he got caught.  it was a funny!

Josh was acting goofy, and he got caught. it was a funny!

Angela, Dylan, Josh and Jaiden

Angela, Dylan, Josh and Jaiden

Kynlee, Katie, Joseph and Wyatt

Kynlee, Katie, Joseph and Wyatt

Kynlee, Katie, Wyatt and Joseph

Kynlee, Katie, Wyatt and Joseph

some of my family

some of my family

I want to give a big birthday wish to my dad, as he turned 79 today. I got to talk to him this morning; they were visiting Kyle and family and having lunch at my sister, Pattie’s house.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

