Kindness and Some Trust

I don’t know if you have noticed or not, but there are Christmas decorations around almost everywhere, even Christmas music is being played on the radio! I just love Christmas music and I am enjoying seeing all the decorations even though Thanksgiving hasn’t gotten here yet. Since Thanksgiving arrives late this year, I like the extra week – I’m sure I will need it when 12/25 comes around, 30 days from tomorrow!

I was busy watching Downton Abbey and Christmas movies yesterday and of course, stitching! At the Houston market/festival I was walking around looking at all the booths and I came across this one booth where they had wool projects. Since I have been working on this Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By” blocks I’ve become really interested in the wool. This particular booth had used a stapler/staples to attach the pieces to their block in order to stitch down and after it was stitched they removed the staples. No pins, so you don’t get stuck! I marveled at the idea, but yesterday I decided it would give it a little try. I got my pieces ironed on, and then I stapled them into place since they tend to fall off. By golly, it worked!

see the staples, I decided to try it.

see the staples, I decided to try it.

more progress

more progress

I worked on my Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By” block Kindness and got it done in sections, the tiny flower centers were a little time consuming. I did not use the staples on those, but it did work very nicely for the bigger pieces, like the flowers and the leaves. The last touch was the word “Kindness”.

before adding the word

before adding the word

Kindness is finished

Kindness is finished

I got to go out for dinner again last night! I picked up my friend; Linda and we decided to go to the Clear Lake Carrabba’s. Yes, I got to go there two days in a row; I just got something different! This time I ate salmon and asparagus. It was so good! We had a very nice dinner and it was nice to catch up on things.

This morning I started on another block, this one is “trust”. First, I decided to put the stems and the leaves down completely and then I layered the flower base and the flowers down using the staple method. It worked pretty well, if I do say so myself, give it a try, you might like it.

the beginning to Trust

the beginning to Trust

my extra pieces

my extra pieces

the leaves and stems are down

the leaves and stems are down

added the flower base and the flowers using staples

added the flower base and the flowers using staples

all of this is stitched down

all of this is stitched down

I still need to add the veins, birds, the mini buds and the word and it will be finished.

David got home around noon, he built the best fire and it has been so nice to have it going all afternoon/evening.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kindness and Some Trust

  1. Thanks for the tip on staples. Yes, worth trying I think!

    Your project is terrific. Can’t wait to see it when it’s done.

Leave a Reply

