From Hope to Courage

We had a pretty good Sunday, except for the fact my football team lost, again! I got to watch Wyatt while Katie and 3 of her bridesmaids went dress shopping for the girl’s dresses. He is so funny and such a pleasure to be around. I love the spirit of children, when they smile they just warm your heart and he can do just that! Then all of us went to eat at Gringo’s. It was so good!

I got my Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By” Hope block all ready to stitch and what do I do??? I decided to prep my Courage block! I fully intended to just prep it, but there was something about it calling me to work on it. I think it was the circle I was eager to work on. I did this one a little different than the others. On all of the other blocks I completely laid the parts out on fabric and it is ALL ready to go. I have been having trouble with the fusible; the pieces don’t want to stick very well so this one I decided to do in sections. I worked with the leaves and the circle, got that completely stitched down and then I added the bird.

courage is ready to cut out

courage is ready to cut out

the leaves and center ring is down and done

the leaves and center ring is down and done

now to add the bird

now to add the bird

see how hard it is to see the thread on the bird

see how hard it is to see the thread on the bird

I love the bird! I do suggest extra lighting when working with the black wool and the black thread. It is very hard to see! I got “Florence” sewed down and then it was time to add the berries. They were kind of tricky, they didn’t want to stick either, and so I just traced where they needed to go and then added them one at a time.

the berries are added

the berries are added

I wanted to go ahead and add the word “courage” so I traced the word where I wanted it to go. I’ve found that it works best to outline the word with the permanent marker pen and then come back and fill in all the lines. After that, I use the iron to remove all of the Frixion pen markings, plus I’m hoping that it helps to set the ink even more. One thing I didn’t mention before is it is best if you put a piece of paper under your fabric, as it seems to bleed through the fabric and I didn’t want black ink on my mat.

courage is done with the Frixion pen first

courage is done with the Frixion pen first

now to outline the word with the permanent pen

now to outline the word with the permanent pen

now the word Courage is finished

now the word Courage is finished

Next, I added the veins to the leaves and the veins between the berries. This block is all finished.

now i need to topstitch the veins

now I need to topstitch the veins

I love this block!

I love this block!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Hope to Courage

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Thats going to be so pretty and neat when its finished. Will you have it quilted?

Leave a Reply

