Wake up Call

This morning I started my day with a mammogram, this is one of my very LEAST favorite things in the entire world. I was kind of complaining about it when the tech ever so gently, put me in my place. She reminded me that in the grand scheme of things, it wasn’t really all that bad. Then she lowered the boom – she told me that she had recently been diagnosed with breast cancer and that if this test helped to detect an early problem that it was all for the best. Needless to say, I didn’t say anything else! She put a different prospective out there for me – I guess I haven’t ever thought of it like that, I was a good girl after that and went on my merry way!

I called my Mom on my way home and shared my adventure; we decided were in a good place. I got home and tried to finish my little mini block, which I did, but I don’t like the center part. Now I need to take it out and re-do it. Before I left for the doctor, I did prep another mini block. One always needs some needlework while waiting! Right!?! ☺ I have a picture of before and after. I like the after much better. I don’t know how many times I read the pattern, but I finally read it and it made sense. I was to only use ONE strand of floss and not three! Ugh! Now I just need to finish up this little cutie.

notice the thick center, before

notice the thick center, before

I re-did the center, I think this is much better

I re-did the center, I think this is much better

my next mini block, I just need to do the centers and the leaves

my next mini block, I just need to do the centers and the leaves

I am in charge of the Baytown guild workshops for 2014 and decided that I had better get cracking on organizing lists and figuring out what workshops are to be done. I do enjoy organizing things, but my room sure has become messy. My mind seems to be jumping from one thing to the other and it is driving me crazy!

Ok, I picked up some in my room and I wanted to work on my Bosal “hassock”. I was able to get one; I’ve been trying to figure out how I want to sew it up. I have an old pair of David’s jeans and I saved them just for a “repurpose” project. They are perfect – at least I hope so. I didn’t make it very far; I only got the jeans cut up.

old jeans

old jeans

my hassock

my hassock

And guess what I found while I was picking up – I found a label that I made for my Twas quilt – the date is wrong. Should I just let it go or should I fix it or I could just wait to finish it on December 1st? Ha!

my label with the wrong date!

my label with the wrong date!

Time to go and cut out my piece for my next block and have TV time with David!
I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily thread. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wake up Call

  1. texancowgirl says:

    Glad you got your mammogram. This has been a busy year for me at MDAnderson but I was truly blessed to have caught it early. Connie

  2. Joyce Bible says:

    If it were me, I would just wait and sew the label on on Dec. 1. My old saying, in a hundred years from now, what will make the difference. HA! Love you.

  3. Hey that must mean I got my part of the project done early! I know you won’t get used to that – you know me too well!

  4. Did you get the Hossack base at Jo Ann’s? What is the pattern to cover it? I think the grand kiddos might need a couple of those.

  5. ronda926 says:

    I actually made the pattern myself! I just measured the top, and around. i saw these at market and festival, but I actually got it at market. Jo-ann’s may have them, not sure. they come in 2 different sizes this one is 12 inches tall and 14 inches on the top. the other one is a little larger and I wished I would have gotten that one for me. Yes, I do think the kids would like them, Wyatt was kind of pushing mine around yesterday.

Leave a Reply

