This Time Last Year

I love this weather, we are in the low 40’s right now, the winds are brisk, and it just feels so nice. When the weather changes like this I always like to think of something hot and steamy, soup or in this case I’m thinking “chili”!

This time last year, we were able to enjoy a fabulous trip to northern Georgia and southern Tennessee. In coastal Texas we don’t get to experience much of the leaves turning and showing their radiant colors. I like to think the trees are strutting their stuff so when I get the opportunity to go where fall is so enjoyable I love it.

I love bridges

I love bridges

this is in Chattanooga

this is in Chattanooga

of course, we stopped!  cute, cute store

of course, we stopped! cute, cute store

Most of our vacations are planned around marathons (26.2 miles), I know that sounds odd, but it is the best way to see and/or go on adventures in different places and there are things one would not necessarily notice or enjoy if you are in a car! I really enjoy the journey, plus I’m slow so I get to see more and get my monies worth! Ha!

the Chattanooga ChoCho

the Chattanooga ChoCho

I love old clocks

I love old clocks

at the Coke-a-Cola museum

at the Coke-a-Cola museum

We planned and trained to do the marathon/half-marathon. David did the full and I did the half. The course was in the battlefield of Chickamauga, which was a civil war battlefield. I thought it was incredible, war memorials almost everywhere you looked. It is hard to imagine that there were battles there and more than likely dead people lying around. The day after the run, David and I went to the battlefield and they have living history stories. They don’t re-enact the battles, they told us that there was so much blood shed there, that the ground is considered sacred.

entering the park

entering the park

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 060

this is what they actually looked like

this is what they actually looked like

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 066

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 071

see the wind blowing the leaves

see the wind blowing the leaves

their like quarters back then

their like quarters back then

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 080

he showed that they carried and it was NOT much

he showed that they carried and it was NOT much

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 082

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 083

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 084

I love the fence

I love the fence

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 086

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 088

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 093

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 094

another monument

another monument

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 102

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 104

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 107

I would love to live here, beautiful land

I would love to live here, beautiful land

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 114

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 115

I love this monument

I love this monument

this picture taken from on tope of the monument

this picture taken from on tope of the monument

While we were there we were able to connect with my some of my cousins that live in Chattanooga, Tennessee. I do love Chattanooga, there is a ton of history in that area, so if you are ever in that area – soak it up!

Paul and Becky on Lookout Mountain

Paul and Becky on Lookout Mountain

David and I at Lookout Mountain

David and I at Lookout Mountain

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 031

2012 11 8-14 GA TN 035

cousins - Becky and Mike with me

cousins – Becky and Mike with me

our family there at Sugar Ray's BBQ

our family there at Sugar Ray’s BBQ

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

