Lots to Share

First of all, I wanted to wish special birthday wish to my daughter-in-law, Candice and I hope all of the veterans out there and their families have had a special day. Thank you for your service and for all of the sacrifices you have made and continue to make. For freedom does not come without cost. I appreciate and I’m thankful for what you have provided for my family.

You know when I go to a sewing retreat; it is time to get as much done and to enjoy every stitch. Since Monday was a holiday the plan was to sew until Monday. Well I have to say I was not disappointed, the food and company was exceptional!

I had decided that I would work on my blocks from friendship bee, I had 14 blocks made for me, therefore I wanted to make 2 more, giving me 16. I was thinking that I’d be glad with that, but now I think I need 4 more. I like the secondary design, but I can’t decide if I should do a sashing and then what border to use. One thing I know, it will not magically sew itself together.

my two newest blocks

my two newest blocks

all 16 blocks

all 16 blocks

to sash or not to sash

to sash or not to sash

Saturday night we celebrated Brenda’s birthday. Cathy fixed salmon, new potatoes and steamed vegetables. It was really good and then cake! Needless to say, we can cook too – there was a lot a great food over the weekend.

the birthday girl, Brenda - birthday dinner

the birthday girl, Brenda – birthday dinner

celebrate!!

celebrate!!

our yummy food

our yummy food

Another sewing option was to sew on my project from my class with Charlotte Angotti during festival called Last Dance. I was able to get my right and left side added to my v-block. Then I put it aside and started working on my Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By” blocks. I had already prepped it, so it was ready to go and at the last minute I decided to prep up my “mini” block. I went to work!

progress on my Charlotte Angotti class

progress on my Charlotte Angotti class

My son, Kyle and family drove in for a funeral on Saturday and we made plans to gather for breakfast on Sunday morning. Sunday morning, I drove home to meet with Kyle, Kara and Adley, they were going to meet Kynlee for the first time. We had planned to only have pancakes, but David had also secretly prepared breakfast casserole, sausage pinwheels and some turkey sausage. He really did an amazing job. A huge shout out of thanks to him for all he did. It was wonderful to spend some time with two of my kids and their precious families. I had hoped to get pictures of the the 3 together, but it just didn’t work out. I did miss my other two kids and their families; I’m hoping we can ALL gather at Christmas.

Kara, Kynlee, Adley and Katie

Kara, Kynlee, Adley and Katie

Adley has learned to blow bubbles and sing

Adley has learned to blow bubbles and sing

she is so strong

she is so strong

Around noon, I drove back to Cathy’s to finish my “retreat” time. I was able to finish my “Joy” block and I was even able to finish stitching my “mini” block. We stitched and stitched while we had a marathon watching of season one of Downton Abbey. It was a lot of fun and I sure enjoyed the show.

Today, I prepared my next block on my Primitive Gatherings “Words to Live By” block. This block is called Loyalty. I got it ready to stitch and another mini block. Time to pack up and then Cathy and I went to get a pedicure. Good times!

my mini block done

my mini block done

all stitched up

all stitched up

bits and pieces of Loyalty

bits and pieces of Loyalty

Loyalty all ready for stitching

Loyalty all ready for stitching

Joy is now complete

Joy is now complete

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lots to Share

  1. cathycarnew says:

    The retreat was so much fun. I enjoy this group of ladies and always look forward to getting together. Thanks for the compliments, Ronda. You are sew, sew, kind! 😉

Leave a Reply

