Upward and Onward

I guess you have figured me out by now, I’m a little driven. Ha! I stayed up late on Thursday to be able to finish my stitching on my Primitive Gatherings block of the week. I got it all finished. I am pretty excited about it. Seeing Lisa’s quilt during market and festival was great incentive!

One little snag, when I get to something that is a little out of my box I tend to get bogged down. There are “words” on these blocks – hence the name “Words to Live By” block of the week. I really thought about not doing the words, but they add so much more meaning to the block. At market I talked to Lisa about using the pen that she suggested and how she went about doing it, so I decided to give it a try on a tester piece of fabric. I traced the word (which is on the pattern) onto the block with a Frixion pen and then used an Ultra fine point Pilot permanent pen to go over what I traced and then filled in the hollow places. My test looked pretty good (I’m also pretty picky) so I got brave enough to put in on my block and then on the other two I had already finished. As a friend of mine said to me, “good enough”, I can live with it. Ha!

my tester piece with Joy

my tester piece with Joy

I traced the work family

I traced the work family

Family all filled in

Family all filled in

Charity

Charity

Honor

Honor

Well, now it is time to go to the next block, so I go to my bag and pulled out a block and I’m onward and upward! I traced all my pieces onto my fusible, then roughly cut them out, placed them on the back of the wool, ironed them on and then cut them out for the block. This block is “Joy”. I like that there are only 3 letters. ☺ I carefully placed all the pieces down and got them exactly where I wanted them and ironed them into place. Now for the stitching, I am really enjoying working with my Valdani threads!

my fabric is ready

my fabric is ready

pieces all traced

pieces all traced

my pretty wools

my pretty wools

all ready to be cut out

all ready to be cut out

getting all the pieces placed where I want them

getting all the pieces placed where I want them

all pressed down and ready for some thread

all pressed down and ready for some thread

About 5, this evening, we are to meet at Cathy, my “sew sister’s house” for a retreat long weekend that is to finish on Monday. Life is Great!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Upward and Onward

  1. Looks great – glad you did the words. Are you machine or hand stitching your wool down?

  2. Karen says:

    Love those blocks! You are doing a great job. The words add such a nice touch…

  3. Sue Fry says:

    Where can I get all the patterns for these blocks? Love your colors!

Leave a Reply

