Thread Wars

You know what they say when your freezer goes out, cook! In the freezer, I had a roast, so I decided to put it in the oven and cook it. For the entire day, I got to smell my roast cooking. That smell sure has found memories for me, it seems like mom would always fix these on Sundays and they would be ready for us when we came home from church.

I’ve been trying to finish my Tavern Blues quilt from Red Crinoline. I picked it up to work on the inner border and I look down and I have threads stuck to me everywhere. I looked for a lint brush, but no luck, I’m not sure where it went. I had to go get a few groceries, so I’m picking threads off all the way to the store. I’m thinking I did pretty well and David tells me later that I have them all over my backside. Oh well!

the inner border is on

the inner border is on

The appliance man arrived around 3 and thank goodness, he was able to fix it and get us up and running for less than $200. I was afraid that we were going to have to get another refrigerator. Happy is the sound of the ice dropping into the bin.

I’ve been missing Katie and company; since I had that big roast in the oven I invited them over for dinner. Mom has been gone for the last two weeks; she was visiting my sister near Dallas and she got home on Monday, so I called them to see if they wanted to come over for dinner too, and they accepted my invite. It was great to be able to spend time with them all, they all enjoyed dinner. Kind of an unusual dinner for a Tuesday night, but they sure ate it. It is really hard to beat roast, mashed potatoes, gravy, lima beans and hot rolls. Needless to say, I didn’t get any stitching done, but I did get to love on those babies!

Great Granny and Kynlee

Great Granny and Kynlee

4 generations; Myself, Kynlee, Mom and Katie

4 generations; Myself, Kynlee, Mom and Katie

kisses for Mommy

kisses for Mommy

Wyatt and Popi - big smiles

Wyatt and Popi – big smiles

Popi and Wyatt playing chase

Popi and Wyatt playing chase

I got a reminder from our head beekeeper that our blocks are due for the Friendship bee tomorrow night. I had to get in gear and get the pattern and fabrics out of the bag. I like the block, very easy 12.5-inch block that is going to be for the wounded warrior project. I have to say that I do really admire the group that heads this up and what they represent. I have yet to contribute to this project, but I will have to put it on my list of things to do. Thank you, Virginia for doing this project, I look forward to seeing the quilt completed!

Friendship bee block

Friendship bee block

friendship fabric provided and cut

friendship fabric provided and cut

first step

first step

press and trim

press and trim

ready to put together

ready to put together

friendship bee block for Virginia

friendship bee block for Virginia

All day, I’ve been looking at this border fabric, fact of the matter – several days! I’ve been dreading cutting it. I keep thinking I will mess it up, but I’m going to conquer it. You will see!

the daunting stripe

the daunting stripe

wahoo, what a relief - DONE

wahoo, what a relief – DONE


Tavern Blues by Red Crinoline Quilts!

Tavern Blues by Red Crinoline Quilts!


I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thread Wars

  1. Brenda Winfield says:

    I enjoyed looking at your pictures. You have a beautiful family. There is always time for stitching another day. I am always amazed how much you get accomplished.

Leave a Reply

