Goofing Around

That is about what all I’ve been doing lately, that and cleaning up my room after the quilt show. Sunday night I did manage to get some of my topstitching done on my Primitive Gathering wool block. I didn’t finish the block yet; it seems to be going slow.

I wanted to share my recipe for my Banana Nut Bread. This recipe is one that I got when I was in high school. We always had fund raisers and I was in the youth in government club and our American History teacher, Cynthia Wright had this recipe and we sold cupcakes, I liked it so, that she shared it with me – yes, way back in the 70’s. It isn’t it kind of funny some of the back-stories of our recipes.

Banana Nut Bread

3 cups of sugar
1 cup of shortening
4 eggs
1 cup of buttermilk *
½ teaspoon of salt
2 teaspoon of vanilla
2 teaspoon of baking soda
3 cups of flour, sifted 3 times
1 cup of chopped pecans
6 mashed bananas

* I never have buttermilk and I always make some “sour milk”. You take one cup of regular milk and 1 tablespoon of vinegar and set aside for about 5 minutes. It actually curdles.

Mix as given. You can use 2 bread pans or 9×13 inch pan. Bake at 325 degrees for 45 minutes to 1 ½ hours till brown on top. Very moist cake, cool and slice.

Last night was the Baytown quilt guild meeting and Cathy Miller; the singing quilter did our lecture. She really did a great job, I have to say I was a tad skeptical about it, but I really enjoyed her fun lyrics and the jesting she does with her folk singing. It was really funny – lots of laughter in the room.

Oh, I was able to get some more topstitching done, only 2 more leaves to stitch, plus some accent work. Maybe I’ll finish tonight while I watch the Biggest Loser.

look at my pretty wools that I got during quilt show

look at my pretty wools that I got during quilt show

my progress

my progress

I got home from the meeting and David had this towel on the kitchen floor – not a good sign! Come to find out, our freezer has gone out. Luckily we have a big freezer and we had a backup storage. That was messy enough; so the repairperson has been called and is scheduled to come today.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goofing Around

  1. julie says:

    Ronda – your block looks wonderful! I have to get busy on the bigger ones now – I think I have 3 or 4 completed. It was so much fun to see you at Market. . . we will do better next year at planning to make sure we can get lunch together! I’m off to work. . .

    • ronda926 says:

      I look forward to next year. I have to say seeing this finished sure does motivate me. I even had my quilter friend examine the quilting! I can’t wait! hugs to you all!

Leave a Reply

