The Tie that Binds

I do love my Sunday mornings, David normally fixes me breakfast – I just love that and it is nice to know that I don’t have to fix all the meals! Today I had some bananas that I have been saving up to make “Banana Nut Bread”, so before he got in there, I decided I would mix it up and stick it in the oven. It sure smelt good while it was baking and a long time after that!

my yummy Banana nut bread

my yummy Banana nut bread

it was still warm

it was still warm

While I was sewing I began to think about all the people I got to talk to while being at the Houston Quilt Festival this year. I have learned so much from my quilting friends, more like life lessons. How the threads seem to bring family and friends together. Yesterday while I was working in the booth I got to talk to this one group of 3 women. One lady was in a wheel chair and after helping one of them with the Karen Kay Buckley scissors; I was talking to the lady in the wheel chair and then she happily told me that she was 91 and she ask her daughter if she needed them too. Her daughter told her, that she did not since most of the things she did was by hand. Then the 91 year old told me that she just finished a quilt for her granddaughter out of the clothes that she had saved from years back from the fabrics that she used to make her clothes. Her granddaughter was pushing her – 3 generations of quilters! I wish I could have enjoyed that, but maybe one of these days. Regardless, how special is that!? Gloria F., as always – it was sure good to see you!

Today, I worked on my sashing for my Red Crinoline, Tavern Blues quilt and I got all the sashing pieces done. Next, I added the sashing to the rows, along with adding the setting triangles. Wahoo, I got the setting triangles added and then it was time to make the rows. I did it! Now I have one big piece, all I have left is to add the inner border and then the outer border and I’ll be done.

all layed out and ready to be sewn

all layed out and ready to be sewn

a closer view

a closer view

with the triangles sewn on

with the triangles sewn on

all sewn together, now it is ready for the borders

all sewn together, now it is ready for the borders

I’m setting my Tavern Blues aside, so that I can work on my wool block and watch the Texan football game!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hug,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Tie that Binds

Leave a Reply

