Not Sure Where to Start

Monday was the last day of quilt market and also the booth flip from Market to Festival. We expanded to 3 booths, instead of 2. That flipping stuff is very hard work. I ended up abandoning ship about 8:30 p.m. and got home about 9. I needed to prep for my class on Tuesday morning and put my feet up for just a little bit.

Rosie and Cynthia clowning around

Rosie and Cynthia clowning around

I did take a few pictures of Cynthia and Julie before I left. So this is just a pre-view and a bad one at that!

the booth

the booth

Julie working

Julie working

Tuesday morning I headed out of the house at 8 and my class started at 9. I got parked and into my class just fine, the class was a huge class, probably over 50 students, the class was sold out. Little did I know! The teacher was Charlotte Angotti and the class was called “Let Me Surprise You”. It was a mystery, totally – I had NO idea color, size, fabrics, or even if I would like it. I decided to take it anyway.

the show and tell, this lady did a special border

the show and tell, this lady did a special border

this was last years class

this was last years class

It was a good class, she only handed out sections of it at a time, you know to prolong the mystery. We did a lot of chain sewing. First off we make 80 tri-rec squares. The fabric kit was included in the price of the class and the kit was all laser, pre-cut. It was great to work with and I loved that fact that all the pieces just fit perfectly.

the tri-recs block and the wings, steps one and two

the tri-recs block and the wings, steps one and two

step 3, I finally just did what I needed to get one block done

step 3, I finally just did what I needed to get one block done

these are just added, but don't they look so nice and crisp

these are just added, but don’t they look so nice and crisp

the finished block

the finished block

this is the kit finished

this is the kit finished

a closer look of the middle

a closer look of the middle

how she did the edges

how she did the edges

I sat by a lady from San Antonio and her name is Rhonda. How fun is that? As I was sitting in the class and I see a lady that I know, but not sure where or even what her name was. All the time I thinking I will figure it out, but no. This is a class that she does each year, just different mystery quilts. Some of the students take her class each year, so there was a show and tell before the class. Finally, I’m at the iron and she is as well; so I asked her, come to find out she is the machine/software teacher, Martha P. at It’s A Stitch in Humble.

I got home and it was still daylight and that was very exciting. I ended up meeting Katie, Joseph and the kids at the pumpkin patch for a few pictures and then home to work on costumes for the kids. I told her she was never again to wait until market/festival to get costumes done. Ugh! Then we had a project FAIL because she was telling me how to sew, so I did what she said and guess what! Her plan would not even go over his legs/hips and I had to rip out and re-make it. She just told me that she would get Granny (my Mom) to do it next year. We laughed! It was getting late and the kids needed to go to bed, so I need to finish Kynlee’s top today.

Miss Kynlee, her hair is getting lighter

Miss Kynlee, her hair is getting lighter

Kynlee and Wyatt

Kynlee and Wyatt

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads. Love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not Sure Where to Start

  1. Barb Wood says:

    Love reading your posts about the Quilt Festival and your Mystery Quilt class looked like it was great fun!

  2. Wonderful blog post! Can’t wait to see the booth transformation!

Leave a Reply

