2013 Houston Quilts

Hanging quilts has to be the most interesting event and exhausting thing I enjoy doing! This is much better than running marathons! LOL! This is the third year I’ve done it and I have to say that each year it gets more and more interesting. I was going to wait until posting tomorrow, but I thought I would go ahead and share.

I did ask for permission to take photos and it was approved. You can take photos of the IQA quilt exhibits. Wahoo, that is good for me and for you – that is, if you don’t have the opportunity to be able to attend the quilt show this year.

We started hanging on “row H” and we got to “row M”. I told them I would help hang. There were several other angels there, but I thought I would hang – which means up and down the ladder. There were tons of up and downs.

I worked with a man for a while, and we had a lady spotter. That means she helps us to get the right placement (right, left, up, down). The man left for a break and I kept hanging, so the lady took his place. We ended up making a great team.

this quilt was unbelievable

this quilt was unbelievable

this is the back of the quilt, crystals all over

this is the back of the quilt, crystals all over

I know the maker of this one...Sue G

I know the maker of this one…Sue G

I looked at the label, but I forgot.  I do like the appliqué

I looked at the label, but I forgot. I do like the appliqué

I really liked this one, love the details.  this one is from KC

I really liked this one, love the details. this one is from KC

a close up

a close up

another close up

another close up

and the border close up

and the border close up

I thought this one was interesting and love the image that it makes

I thought this one was interesting and love the image that it makes

ok, this one was top of the line...it is a BOOK.  the name of it is "seven deadly sins".  the backing is leather.  truly a work of art.

ok, this one was top of the line…it is a BOOK. the name of it is “seven deadly sins”. the backing is leather. truly a work of art.

this is the first page and inside the book.

this is the first page and inside the book.

page 2 and 3

page 2 and 3

love this cheerful one

love this cheerful one

and i love the quilting

and i love the quilting

this is a Japanese made quilt; love the details

this is a Japanese made quilt; love the details

close up of the detail

close up of the detail

another Japanese made quilt.  amazing

another Japanese made quilt. amazing

close up

close up

another Japanese made quilt, it is the largest of the 3, gorgeous

another Japanese made quilt, it is the largest of the 3, gorgeous

close up of one panel

close up of one panel

this one was the most unusual.  under the letters were pictures.  notice the hands at the top (male-female) and her fingernails.  a lot of work

this one was the most unusual. under the letters were pictures. notice the hands at the top (male-female) and her fingernails. a lot of work

this one is made by the same person as the basket ABC quilt.  I loved both of them

this one is made by the same person as the basket ABC quilt. I loved both of them

a close up of the center

a close up of the center

I really liked the feathered star

I really liked the feathered star

feather star border closer

feather star border closer

loved her label, it is an envelope

loved her label, it is an envelope

the inside of the envelope...from Fredericksburg, TX.

the inside of the envelope…from Fredericksburg, TX.

When you are hanging quilts you have time to talk, so I started talking to the lady and found out she was from Pasadena. This is the first time I’ve had the chance to work with someone from my side of town. So I started asking more questions…like do you belong to a guild. She said no, but she told me that I looked familiar. I said she kind of did too. I told her that I belonged to 2 guilds, Baytown and Lakeview. She told me that she went to the Baytown guild meeting sometime last year with a friend of hers, Brenda W. I said, oh my goodness; that is how we’ve met – Brenda W. is a good friend of mine. Her name is Robin L. and we have a common friend. Robin is actually taking several classes and is staying at the Hilton during Festival. I’ll just say, she is one lucky lady!

I asked Robin if she was staying with anyone at the Hilton and she said no, that she normally stays with a friend, Darlene Ham but she passed away. My mouth just flew open. Mrs. Ham was the lady that passed and I went to her estate sale a few months ago and bought several things. I got chocked up. I told her that I blogged about Mrs. Ham.

All I can say is that I stand (or sit) amazed by God’s presence, for this angel is very tired!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 Houston Quilts

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Sounds like you had a good time and made a new friend. Good for you.

Leave a Reply

