My Birthday!

Today has been a very busy day, but today I turned 55! I guess it is only a number, right?! I don’t really feel like it, but the reality is – I am. Oh well! I’ve heard from all of my children and some grandchildren and many friends. I am blessed!

I got an earlier start than I do on most workdays; I met my work buddies at Cracker Barrel for breakfast and then went to work. It was very good! For dinner we met Cathy and Rex at Pappa’s – it was so very good! We shared a Carrot Cake cheesecake for dessert, it was very good. Thank you, Cathy and Rex for taking us out to dinner!

Birthday cake with my best friend, Cathy

Birthday cake with my best friend, Cathy

It is hard to believe but this time last week I was at Camp Blanding in Starke, Florida getting all set up and getting ready for a 5 day sewing retreat. I know it seems like a long time, but it goes by fast and it is really a lot of fun.

I got my room all set up for the week, I just had to share the bathroom with someone and that is ok – great room rates! It is suggested that you bring a quilt from home to make your room a little more welcoming. So of course I did just that – in fact, I took the quilt that I won in the Baytown raffle in 2012. I love taking my Texas quilt to Florida!

my room while I was there

my room while I was there

my favorite quilt to take on retreats

my favorite quilt to take on retreats

Friday morning was the first full day of sewing for the entire group of 165 people, yes 165! I walked in the back just as they were entering the doors and one would have thought that it was Thanksgiving Day sale madness. Some of the ladies were actually dashing around, throwing their things on the table and trying to save tables for their group. It was fun to watch all the action.

our sewing room for 165 people

our sewing room for 165 people

the ladies were trotting to tables, I sure didn't want to get in the way!

the ladies were trotting to tables, I sure didn’t want to get in the way!

Camp Blanding "campers"

Camp Blanding “campers”

Gloria's and Vicky's peeps

Gloria’s and Vicky’s peeps

This retreat the hostesses, Gloria and Vicky had a saleroom – which means you have the opportunity to sell items in your sewing room or crafts and make a little extra money. I am here to say that there was tons of stuff to buy. I did buy some things, but I really tried to keep it to a minimum. Red Crinoline Quilts had a booth in there too; you could buy some of their kits. It was a huge success, they sold over $17,000 worth of stuff, I was shocked! So it would be well worth it to do some cleaning – you know what they say…another man’s trash is another man’s treasure! ☺

Red Crinoline Quilts booth

Red Crinoline Quilts booth

they had a garage sale - people could sale the things they wanted

they had a garage sale – people could sale the things they wanted

a lot more sale items

a lot more sale items

more sales

more sales

it was everywhere

it was everywhere

Three of the girls work at Camp Blanding – Donna, Wynette and Diane. They do a wonderful job making sure all goes well and offer us warm hospitality! For their hard work they were given quilts for their efforts. They were very surprised and excited about their quilts.

Wynette's quilt

Wynette’s quilt

Diane's quilt

Diane’s quilt

Donna's quilt

Donna’s quilt

a group picture

a group picture

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Birthday!

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Glad you had fun and that you got taken out on you Birthday. Happy Birthday again.

Leave a Reply

