Monday Sew-in

It has been a wild and fun day here! I had two friends, Linda and Sandy come over for a sew day and I thought I had gotten a good bit done, but there are just little things here and there. First order of business is to change out my cutting blade. I had cut and cut and then recut some of the little threads, so after struggling with my cutting, I finally gave in and decided enough, was enough! Oh what a difference it makes, it feels like I’m cutting butter now. Now I wonder, why did I wait so long? Ugh!

I had to finish cutting my light fabrics, starting from six different ½ yard cuts and make 140, 2-inch squares for my Tavern Blues quilt. I think it is crazy that we start with big pieces and then cut them into small pieces only to make them big again!

here is 840, 2-inch squares

here is 840, 2-inch squares

I got my cutting done for the blocks, I will need to make 25, 12 ½-inch blocks and in one block there are 8 flying geese, 4 square in a square sections, and 8 plain squares. Oh and 4 rectangles, I almost missed seeing those. Should be a piece of cake, right? ☺ Ha!

my block

my block

my block components are ready to go

my block components are ready to go

I also got my machine embroidery borders out and cleaned up the loose threads, next I ironed them really well and now they are ready to go. Then I worked on my half square triangles and I started getting my next block ready for my Primitive Gatherings wool block.

my borders ready to be trimmed up

my borders ready to be trimmed up

my half squares all ready to cut up

my half squares all ready to cut up

We had a great time stitching together today. The 3 of us use to sew together on a regular basis, but then our schedules (mainly mine) got in the way and we stopped meeting. Sandy is moving off at the end of the month and we got together one last time before she left. It was great catching up and hearing about how things were going with one another. I served my special tuna fish sandwiches, with spinach dip and then I made an Apple-Cream Cheese Bundt Cake from the Southern Living magazine 2012. This is the second time I’ve made it and it is yummy!

my Apple-Cream Cheese Bundt cake

my Apple-Cream Cheese Bundt cake

inside - yummy

inside – yummy

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

