Twas the Night, Day 1

Our day got off to a great start, Brenda picked me up and off we go to class, we even had time to go back to the grocery store to get a few snacks. I was thinking we were going to get a lot done and it was going to be fun and we were going to learn a lot. Some of that was true!

this is what we are going to make

this is what we are going to make

a closer picture

a closer picture

Hi Brenda!

Hi Brenda!

Claudia Dinnell from Phoenix, Arizona is teaching our class. She does a lot of machine embroidery patterns and had several samples hanging in our class. If you ever get the opportunity to take one of her classes, I recommend it; you will enjoy and like it.

another one of Claudia's patterns

another one of Claudia’s patterns

another pattern

another pattern

one of Claudia's patterns in the works

one of Claudia’s patterns in the works

Claudia gave us our beginning instructions and got us going on stitching out our pieces. She even went around to each station and made sure we got off to the right start. I’m feeling pretty confident until my sewing neighbor, Carol walks over and looks at my stitching and says, “This is sure close to the edge!” I stopped my machine and called the teacher for help!

off and running - wrong!

off and running – wrong!

I had marked my fabric in the wrong spot and of course, that was a huge error! It was kind of ironic, when Claudia was giving our instructions she mentioned that we wanted to be accurate because ripping out machine embroidery was very time consuming because you are ripping out 3-4 layers of stitches. Well, guess who was the first “dunce”? Me! She got me going on the corner sections while I practiced un-sewing! I finally got that done, and it took FOREVER! In fact, I was able to stitch out 3 of my corners before I finished ripping out the first section. All the time thinking all is good; at least I’m stitching out something, even if it wasn’t what all the others were working on. We stayed until about 5:30 and headed home. We do have a little homework tonight, but my brain sure is tired.

my center after 3 sections

my center after 3 sections, bad lighting

3 of my corners

3 of my corners

I am very hopeful that I will finish the main center square tomorrow. I think there are 12 hoopings to stitch out the center and I got the first 3 stitched out, several of the ladies got their centers all finished. Luckily, I was not the only one that got to rip out. Ugh!

Back to school again tomorrow! Hopefully I will not be wearing that hat again tomorrow!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Twas the Night, Day 1

  1. Ron Bible says:

    I know you will get it together. You can do anything you set your mind to. Lots of pretty stuff there

  2. Pingback: Twas the Night 2 | and sew it began

  3. Kim M says:

    That embroidery is going to look so awesome! I love the pattern with the ornaments, stockings, snowglobe, etc too!

Leave a Reply

