All Mixed Up

Yesterday was pretty eventful, we had a surprise birthday lunch for Ivy at Topwater Grill. Katie was sick and ended up at the hospital but came home. I picked up Wyatt after work and David ended up watching him while I went to the Baytown Quilt guild to hear Nova Montgomery. She had a very interesting lecture on the 1933 Chicago World’s Fair and the Singer Featherweight sewing machine.

Ivy, the birthday girl

Ivy, the birthday girl

Ivy and Phyllis

Ivy and Phyllis

Today was another prep day for me, but for a different event…tomorrow is my very first colonoscopy. At least the first part of my day was a great one; I’m still not sure what the evening will hold.

I was able to get my checkerboard border done and all 33 of my flying geese for my class on Friday and Saturday. Cathy came over and we sewed this morning and it really helped to sew and talk, which was a great distraction from the fact that we could only have clear liquids today. She and I are actually doing a tag-team colon test tomorrow. Mine is at 10:45 and hers is at 11:15, hopefully we won’t tear the house up. Ha!

my checkerboard border

my checkerboard border

my flying geese

my flying geese

Cathy worked on her borders class project that she is taking at Pinwheels and Posies taught by Winnie Fleming. I will give a shout out for that class if you live in this area. I believe it by far; the best fundamental class one could ever take. Winnie gives you the knowledge to work on your pieced borders and then do your inner borders. This is a formula based on the length of your pieced border and what you already have sewn. Hope that makes sense. Anyway, I highly recommend it if you can!

We even got to go to the Painted Pony for some shopping so she could do her next step – that is always fun!

After we got home I started working on my wool block from Primitive Gatherings. I traced my pieces on my fusible and they are now ironed down and ready to cut out. Maybe I will get some of the stitching done tonight.

block 6 pattern, I'm starting in the middle.

block 6 pattern, I’m starting in the middle.

pieces of my block

pieces of my block

Yesterday I got my Dresden Star guilt back from Denise Green of Hollydee Quilts; this is a pattern/class from Laundry Basket Quilts that I took last year from Edyta Sitar when she came to our guild. I finished it in June of 2012 and I finally decided to send it to the Denise to put her magic touch on it and she did just that! As usual, Denise did a great job!

IMG_4695

a close up of the block

a close up of the block

Denise's quilting, I love the flower detail

Denise’s quilting, I love the flower detail

more quilting

more quilting

One of the techniques that Edyta teaches is to use or mix your fabrics like your reproduction prints and your batiks in the same quilt. This was my first time to do that and I really do like how they play well with one another! Now I need to do my label and binding.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

